Lewan, Ball lead B1G's AP All-Americans

The Associated Press has revealed its 2012 All-America teams, and two Big Ten players have earned first-team honors: Michigan offensive tackle Taylor Lewan and Wisconsin running back Montee Ball.

A three-year starter, Lewan has made 27 consecutive starts at left tackle. The junior was part of an offensive line that surrendered a league-best 15 sacks during the 2012 regular season and helped the Wolverines average 385 yards of offense per game.

Ball set the NCAA career records for total touchdowns and rushing touchdowns this season while winning the Doak Walker Award as the nation's top running back. The Badgers senior became a two-time All-American, joining Alabama center Barrett Jones and Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones as repeat honorees.

Three Big Ten players were also named to the AP's second team. They are:

Ohio State defensive end John Simon, the Big Ten defensive player of the year, was named to the third team.

Surprisingly, Penn State linebacker Michael Mauti did not make any of the three teams. Linebacker was a stacked position in the country this year, but I would have thought Mauti was deserving of one of the nine spots on the three teams. You could also make a strong case for his Nittany Lions teammate, defensive tackle Jordan Hill, as belonging on the second or third team. Same goes for Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller, who finished fifth in the Heisman Trophy voting but couldn't make it on the AP's third team.

Congrats to those who did make the AP All-America teams.