Clark and Graham both win Silver Football

For the first time in the 86-year history of the Chicago Tribune's Silver Football award, the honor is going to two Big Ten players.

Penn State senior quarterback Daryll Clark and Michigan senior defensive end Brandon Graham both win the Silver Football, awarded to the Big Ten's MVP every year since 1924. Big Ten coaches vote on the award -- coaches aren't allowed to vote for players on their teams -- and the voting ended with a historic tie at the top. Both Clark and Graham earned three first-place votes and one second-place vote, totaling seven points.

Wisconsin sophomore running back John Clay, the Big Ten's Offensive Player of the Year, was the third nominee for the award.

Clark becomes the first Penn State player to win the award since his mentor Michael Robinson in 2005.

Graham is the seventh defensive player to claim the Silver Football and the first since Michigan cornerback Charles Woodson in 1997.