Miller, Hyde, Borland up for Silver Football

Ohio State stars Braxton Miller and Carlos Hyde and Wisconsin linebacker Chris Borland are the three finalists for the Silver Football, which is awarded to the Big Ten's top player by the Chicago Tribune.

The honor predates the Heisman Trophy and is voted on by the league's head coaches.

Miller won the Silver Football last year and is vying to become the first back-to-back winner since Indiana’s Anthony Thompson in 1988-89. Earlier this week, Miller was named the Big Ten's offensive player of the year for a second straight season.

Teammate Hyde was named the Big Ten's running back of the year on Monday. Hyde rushed for 1,290 yards after serving a three game suspension to start the year.

Borland was named the Big Ten's defensive player of the year and linebacker of the year earlier this week. No defensive player has won the Silver Football outright. Michigan’s Brandon Graham was a co-recipient of the trophy with Penn State quarterback Daryll Clark in 2009.

The winner of the 2013 Silver Football will be announced on Dec. 12.