Big Ten announces academic all-conference team

Posted by ESPN.com's Adam Rittenberg

The Big Ten announced its academic all-conference team for the fall today, and 185 football players made the list of athletes who carry grade-point averages of 3.0 or higher.

Three football players finished with 4.0 grade-point averages: Iowa defensive tackle Anton Narinsky, Wisconsin fullback Chris Pressley and Purdue linebacker Joe Holland.

Some other prominent names on the list include Ohio State running back Chris "Beanie" Wells, Ohio State linebacker James Laurinaitis, Minnesota wide receiver Adam Weber, Illinois linebacker Brit Miller and Penn State wide receiver Jordan Norwood. I'll try to link to the full list later.

Here's the team-by-team breakdown of football academic all-conference members:

  • Illinois: 7

  • Indiana: 22

  • Iowa: 16

  • Michigan: 9

  • Michigan State: 11

  • Minnesota: 26

  • Northwestern: 26

  • Ohio State: 26

  • Penn State: 16

  • Purdue: 14

  • Wisconsin: 12