Iowa's 'All-Century' team: Best lineup since 2000

With less than a week left until we can really start talking about the upcoming season -- Big Ten media days -- we’re scrambling for some actual football discussion. So, to borrow an idea from our pals at the Pac-12 blog, we’re putting together the “All-Century” teams for every Big Ten school.

These are the top lineups each team could field consisting of players who have played since 2000. Next up is Iowa Hawkeyes.


QB Brad Banks: Authored a remarkable campaign in 2002 that included nearly 3,000 yards of total offense, 31 touchdowns and a Silver Football as the most outstanding player in the Big Ten.

RB Shonn Greene: The Doak Walker Award winner in 2008, Green was the only rusher in the country to top 100 yards in every game and also punched in 20 rushing touchdowns.

RB Marcus Coker: A regular in the end zone with 15 trips, Coker also finished the 2011 season with the fourth-best single-season rushing total in Iowa history.

WR Marvin McNutt Jr.: The school’s all-time leader in yardage and touchdown catches by the time he was done with the Hawkeyes, McNutt also was honored as the Big Ten’s best receiver in 2011.

WR Derrell Johnson-Koulianos: A consistent weapon during his career with Iowa, the wideout finished only behind McNutt on the career yardage list and was an all-conference pick in 2010.

TE Dallas Clark: Did everything a team could have asked for at the position, and nobody did it any better in 2002 when he was the Mackey Award winner, capping his career with 81 catches for 1,281 yards over just two seasons.

OL Brandon Scherff: Truly a freakish athlete considering his size, Scherff was the fifth-overall pick in the NFL draft after being honored as the Big Ten’s best lineman in 2014.

OL Eric Steinbach: The Hawkeyes have made it something of a tradition to boast the Big Ten’s best blocker, and Steinbach helped pave the way since the turn of the century by winning that trophy after anchoring a unit that allowed just 12 sacks.

OL Robert Gallery: The physical presence up front made it back-to-back seasons for Iowa with the offensive lineman of the year, picking up his trophy in 2003 before heading to the NFL as a first-round pick.

OL Bruce Nelson: A Rimington finalist in 2002 and a second-round pick by Carolina, Nelson played a crucial role for a team that finished with a No. 8 ranking nationally.

OL Bryan Bulaga: Another award-winning blocker, the big man added to Iowa’s trophy case by winning lineman of the year honors in 2009 before becoming yet another first-round pick developed by the program.


DL Adrian Clayborn: A consensus All-American and twice an all-conference selection, Clayborn wreaked havoc as a three-year starter who helped the Hawkeyes win 28 games and three bowl games.

DL Mitch King: The dangerous defensive tackle was a two-time All-Big Ten pick and honored as the best defensive lineman in the conference in 2008 after finishing as Iowa’s leader in sacks and tackles for loss.

DL Jonathan Babineaux: A disruptive force up front, Babineaux set a school record with 25 tackles for loss in 2004 on the way to a first-team All-Big Ten nod and what would eventually be a productive NFL career.

DL Matt Roth: Set the pace for Iowa in sacks for consecutive seasons, combining for 22 quarterback takedowns and first-team all-conference honors.

LB Pat Angerer: A relentless defender, Angerer flew around the field, racking up 145 tackles during a huge 2009 campaign that earned him All-America status and made him a Nagurski finalist.

LB Chad Greenway: A first-round pick in 2006, Greenway earned a reputation as a hard-nosed defender and left school with Iowa’s fifth-highest tackle total and two first-team All-Big Ten selections.

LB Abdul Hodge: Posted two of the most prolific seasons in terms of tackles in Iowa history, piling up 158 in 2005 to top the 141 he posted in 2003.

DB Desmond King: The reigning Thorpe Award winner hasn’t even put the finishing touches on his career with the Hawkeyes, but his spot is already secure on the heels of his breakout season in 2015.

DB Bob Sanders: A two-time All-Big Ten selection, Sanders always made his presence known in the secondary -- including at the NFL level, where he won a defensive player of the year award with the Indianapolis Colts.

DB Tyler Sash: The Hawkeyes haven’t had many players with a better nose for the football than Sash, who wrapped up his decorated three-year career with 13 interceptions -- which he returned for an average of 30 yards per pick.

DB Micah Hyde: The Big Ten’s defensive back of the year in 2012, Hyde was both a willing tackler and a threat to take interceptions back for touchdowns, which he did twice during his sophomore season.


P Ryan Donahue: A Ray Guy finalist with a huge leg, Donahue booted the longest punt since 1962 for the Hawkeyes when he unleashed an 82-yard bomb in 2007 -- one of his six attempts that travelled at least 68 yards.

K: Nate Kaeding: An All-American, a Groza Award winner and the school’s career leader in kicking points, Kaeding’s spot was obviously secure here.

PR/KR Kahlil Hill: The special teams player of the year in 2001, Hill was a weapon taking back both kickoffs and punts, taking two of each back for touchdowns during his career.