Big Ten leads in Lott Trophy candidates

The Big Ten boasts six of the 20 quarterfinalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, the most of any conference. The Lott Trophy is awarded to the nation's defensive player of the year who reflects the following values: integrity, maturity, performance, academics, community and tenacity.

Here's the Big Ten contingent:

  • Nebraska LB Lavonte David

  • Wisconsin S Aaron Henry

  • Purdue LB Joe Holland

  • Michigan S Jordan Kovacs

  • Ohio State DL John Simon

  • Michigan State DT Jerel Worthy

The Big Ten leads all conferences with six selections, followed by four from the SEC and three from both the Pac-12 and ACC. Big Ten players have won the award in two of the past three seasons: Wisconsin DE J.J. Watt (2010) and Ohio State LB James Laurinaitis (2008).