Big Ten afternoon roundup

Catching you up on several topics on a frigid Tuesday in Chicago.


  • Iowa will be without starting running back Adam Robinson for Saturday's regular-season finale at Minnesota. Robinson suffered an apparent concussion after taking a big hit on a screen pass in the fourth quarter of last week's loss to Ohio State. Coach Kirk Ferentz expects Robinson to be back for Iowa's bowl game, but freshman Marcus Coker will start Saturday. I asked Ferentz whether a penalty should have been called on the play where Robinson was injured. Ferentz called it a "bang-bang play" and said while pass interference could have been called, he had no issue with the legality of Jermale Hines' hit on Robinson. "It was an aggressive football play," Ferentz said.

  • Wisconsin running back John Clay is practicing today, but his status for Saturday's game against Northwestern will be determined later in the week. Clay is listed as the third-team running back on this week's depth chart.

  • Penn State linebacker Michael Mauti (shoulder) will be limited in today's practice. "After we watch him do some things today, we'll have a better idea how much he can do on Saturday, if any at all," coach Joe Paterno said. Lions center Doug Klopacz likely will miss the game with an ankle injury.

  • The open week came at a good time for Minnesota's offensive line, which should get everyone back with the possible exception of Ryan Orton for the Iowa game.


  • Michigan State's Mark Dantonio and Wisconsin's Bret Bielema are among the eight finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award. The winner will be announced Dec. 6 in New York.

  • Wisconsin's Clay has been named one of three finalists for the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's top running back. Oregon's LaMichael James and Oklahoma State's Kendall Hunter are the other two finalists. The winner will be announced Dec. 9 during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards.

  • Wisconsin left tackle Gabe Carimi is one of three finalists for the Outland Trophy, given to the nation's top interior lineman. The winner will be announced Dec. 9 during the "Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards." I'd be pretty surprised if Carimi doesn't win.


  • No surprise here, but the BCS announced that Wisconsin, Ohio State and Michigan State are the only Big Ten teams still under consideration for BCS bowl slots.