Four Big Ten freshmen named FWAA All-Americans

Posted by ESPN.com's Adam Rittenberg

The Football Writers Association of America today announced its freshman All-America team, which included four players from the Big Ten.

Five of the six BCS conferences -- Big Ten, ACC, Big 12, SEC and Pac-10 -- placed four players on the list.

Here are the Big Ten honorees:

  • Joel Foreman, guard, Michigan State

  • Mike Brewster, center, Ohio State

  • Jordan Mabin, cornerback, Northwestern

  • Philip Welch, kicker, Wisconsin

All four players played prominent roles this fall.

Brewster, a true freshman, moved into the starting lineup midway through the season. Foreman started on a line that helped Javon Ringer finish third nationally in rushing. Mabin tied for the team lead with three interceptions and added eight pass deflections in his first season as a starter. Welch proved to be an excellent replacement for All-Big Ten kicker Taylor Mehlhaff, converting 17 of 20 field-goal attempts.

Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore got the nod over Ohio State's Terrelle Pryor. I was a little surprised that neither of the Big Ten's outstanding freshman punters -- Chris Hagerup (Indiana) and Brad Nortman (Wisconsin) -- made the list.