Bergeron wins Selke; Rask takes Vezina

The Boston Bruins’ Patrice Bergeron and Tuukka Rask both were honored as winners at the annual NHL awards night Tuesday in Las Vegas.

Rask won the Vezina Trophy as the league’s top goalie, while Bergeron earned the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the top defensive forward. This is the second time Bergeron has won the Selke; he was a landslide winner, receiving 1,283 points in the voting, including 112 first-place votes.

Bruins defenseman Zdeno Chara finished second in voting for the Norris Trophy as the league’s top defenseman, behind winner Duncan Keith of the Chicago Blackhawks.

Bergeron also won the NHL Player Foundation Award for the player who applies the core values of hockey, commitment, perseverance and teamwork to enrich the lives of people in the community. Bergeron finished fifth in Hart Trophy voting as league MVP and 13th in Lady Byng Trophy voting for sportsmanship and a high quality of play.

Hockey fans also voted Bergeron to be the EA Sports NHL15 cover athlete, beating the Montreal Canadiens’ P.K. Subban for the cover of the video game.

The Bruins’ David Krejci finished 12th in Selke voting, while defenseman Torey Krug finished fourth in Calder Trophy voting for top rookie. Bruins coach Claude Julien finished fourth in Jack Adams Award voting.

Bruins general manager Peter Chiarelli finished sixth in voting for the general manager of the year.

Chara was named to his third career First All-Star team, while Rask earned his first. Krug was named to the All-Rookie team.