Rivers honored with Auerbach Award

BOSTON -- The Celtics presented coach Doc Rivers with the sixth annual Auerbach Award before Friday's game against the Washington Wizards.

The honor, presented each year since the 2005-06 season, is bestowed upon the Celtics player (or coach, in this instance) who best exemplifies the spirit of what it means to be a Celtic through performance on the court (or on the bench) and off. The award is named in honor of legendary coach, general manager, and president of the Celtics, the late Arnold “Red” Auerbach.

Past winners include Paul Pierce (2006), Al Jefferson (2007), Kevin Garnett (2008), Ray Allen (2009), and Rajon Rondo (2010).

Pierce and managing partner Wyc Grousbeck presented the award to Rivers before tip-off.

“Doc Rivers deserves this award because he has proved that not only can you be a great basketball coach, but you can be a strong role model in the Boston community and off the court,” said Grousbeck. “I am proud to have someone like Doc Rivers as a Boston Celtic because he exemplifies what it means to be a true Celtic”.