Pierce wins second Auerbach Award

BOSTON -- Boston Celtics captain Paul Pierce took home the team's annual Red Auerbach Award for the second time in his career, joining Kevin Garnett as the only two-time winner.

The honor, presented each year since the 2005-06 season, is bestowed upon the Celtics player or coach who best exemplifies the spirit of what it means to be a Celtic through performance on the court and off. The award is named in honor of legendary coach, general manager, and president of the Celtics, the late Arnold “Red” Auerbach.

Pierce also won the award in 2006. Other past winners include Garnett (2012, 2008), Al Jefferson (2007), Ray Allen (2009), Rajon Rondo (2010) and coach Doc Rivers (2011).

Rivers and owner Wyc Grousbeck presented the award to Pierce before Sunday's game against the Washington Wizards. The ceremony was originally scheduled for Friday's game, but was postponed as Pierce sat out the game due to a sore right ankle.