Crawford gets vote for Sixth Man

NEW YORK -- The fact that New York's J.R. Smith won the league's Sixth Man of the Year honor should come as no surprise. It's Boston representation on the final balloting that raised some eyebrows.

Smith received 72 out of a possible 121 first-place votes while finishing with 484 points overall to comfortably edge Los Angeles Clippers' Jamal Crawford (31 first-place votes; 352 total points).

Two things jump out from the Boston perspective: 1) After a subpar regular season, former Sixth Man of the Year Jason Terry did not land on a single ballot among the 121 sportswriters and broadcasters who were asked to pick their top three choices. 2) Jordan Crawford, Boston's deadline acquisition, earned a single first-place vote and finished seventh overall in the balloting. Was it a mistake ballot for Jamal Crawford?

A Celtics player hasn't won the award since Kevin McHale (2) and Bill Walton combined to win it three straight years from 1984-1986.

Read on for a glance at the full balloting and past winners:


1982-83 Bobby Jones, Philadelphia 76ers

1983-84 Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics

1984-85 Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics

1985-86 Bill Walton, Boston Celtics

1986-87 Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks

1987-88 Roy Tarpley, Dallas Mavericks

1988-89 Eddie Johnson, Phoenix Suns

1989-90 Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks

1990-91 Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers

1991-92 Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers

1992-93 Clifford Robinson, Portland Trail Blazers

1993-94 Dell Curry, Charlotte Hornets

1994-95 Anthony Mason, New York Knicks

1995-96 Toni Kukoc, Chicago Bulls

1996-97 John Starks, New York Knicks

1997-98 Danny Manning, Phoenix Suns

1998-99 Darrell Armstrong, Orlando Magic

1999-00 Rodney Rogers, Phoenix Suns

2000-01 Aaron McKie, Philadelphia 76ers

2001-02 Corliss Williamson, Detroit Pistons

2002-03 Bobby Jackson, Sacramento Kings

2003-04 Antawn Jamison, Dallas Mavericks

2004-05 Ben Gordon, Chicago Bulls

2005-06 Mike Miller, Memphis Grizzlies

2006-07 Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix Suns

2007-08 Manu Ginobili, San Antonio Spurs

2008-09 Jason Terry, Dallas Mavericks

2009-10 Jamal Crawford, Atlanta Hawks

2010-11 Lamar Odom, Los Angeles Lakers

2011-12 James Harden, Oklahoma City Thunder

2012-13 J.R. Smith, New York Knicks