Ainge seventh in executive of the year

Boston Celtics president of basketball operations Danny Ainge finished seventh in voting for the league's executive of the year award.

Ainge received five total votes, including a first-place vote, in balloting among his peers. League executives voted their top three choices.

San Antonio Spurs general manager R.C. Buford won the award. Ainge's former assistant Ryan McDonough finished second in balloting after his first year in charge of the Phoenix Suns.

Ainge started Boston's roster overhaul last summer by trading Kevin Garnett and Paul Pierce to Brooklyn in exchange for three future first-round picks. While Boston labored through a transition year with a flawed roster, Ainge made two more moves in January aimed at unclogging the team's salary commitment and adding future draft picks.

Ainge's 2013-14 moves are likely to look better down the road when we know the full extent of the return haul from the moves he made. For this year at least, Ainge finished one spot ahead of Brooklyn's Billy King.

Read on for the full voting and past winners.


And the full list of previous winners:

1972-73 Joe Axelson, K.C./Omaha

1973-74 Eddie Donovan, Buffalo

1974-75 Dick Vertlieb, Golden State

1975-76 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix

1976-77 Ray Patterson, Houston

1977-78 Angelo Drossos, San Antonio

1978-79 Bob Ferry, Washington

1979-80 Red Auerbach, Boston

1980-81 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix

1981-82 Bob Ferry, Washington

1982-83 Zollie Volchok, Seattle

1983-84 Frank Layden, Utah

1984-85 Vince Boryla, Denver

1985-86 Stan Kasten, Atlanta

1986-87 Stan Kasten, Atlanta

1987-88 Jerry Krause, Chicago

1988-89 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix

1989-90 Bob Bass, San Antonio

1990-91 Bucky Buckwalter, Portland

1991-92 Wayne Embry, Cleveland

1992-93 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix

1993-94 Bob Whitsitt, Seattle

1994-95 Jerry West, Los Angeles Lakers

1995-96 Jerry Krause, Chicago

1996-97 Bob Bass, Charlotte

1997-98 Wayne Embry, Cleveland

1998-99 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento

1999-00 John Gabriel, Orlando

2000-01 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento

2001-02 Rod Thorn, New Jersey

2002-03 Joe Dumars, Detroit

2003-04 Jerry West, Memphis

2004-05 Bryan Colangelo, Phoenix

2005-06 Elgin Baylor, Los Angeles Clippers

2006-07 Bryan Colangelo, Toronto

2007-08 Danny Ainge, Boston

2008-09 Mark Warkentien, Denver

2009-10 John Hammond, Milwaukee

2010-11 Gar Forman, Chicago; Pat Riley, Miami

2011-12 Larry Bird, Indiana

2012-13 Masai Ujiri, Denver

2013-14 R.C. Buford, San Antonio