Eight Eagles earn All-ACC honors

The votes have been counted, and Andre Williams has come out ahead.

No, we’re not breaking news on the 2013 Heisman Trophy. The ACC announced on Wednesday that Williams was one of three unanimous selections on the All-ACC first team picked by the league’s 14 head coaches, along with Clemson’s Sammy Watkins and Florida State’s Jameis Winston.

Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own players, so Watkins, Williams and Winston all received 13 first-place votes to finish with 39 points apiece. That’s the most points possible.

Williams and Seminoles QB Winston, the presumptive favorite, will represent the ACC in New York City on Saturday for the Heisman ceremonies.

In the meantime, the 6-foot, 227-pound back led eight Eagles on the 2013 All-ACC team selected by the league’s 14 head coaches. The Eagles honored were: Williams and Kevin Pierre-Louis on the first team; Kasim Edebali, Nate Freese and Matt Patchan on the second team; Alex Amidon on the third team; and Steele Divitto and Ian White receiving honorable mentions.

The Eagles finished the regular season 7-5 (4-4 ACC) and will play in their first bowl game since 2010 when they face the Arizona Wildcats (7-5, 4-5 Pac-12) in the AdvoCare V100 Bowl in Shreveport, La., on Dec. 31 at 12:30 p.m. ET (ESPN).

Jack McCluskey is an editor for ESPN.com and a frequent contributor to ESPNBoston.com. Follow him on Twitter @jack_mccluskey.