BC a No. 1 seed in NCAA hockey tourney

Boston College was awarded one of four No. 1 seeds in the 2011 NCAA men's hockey tournament. Other Hockey East teams in the tournament are UNH (No. 4 seed) and Merrimack (No. 2 seed). Check out ESPN.com's story on the tournament selection:

Yale, North Dakota, Boston College and Miami were awarded No. 1 seeds for the 2011 NCAA men's hockey tournament, as the seedings were announced Sunday morning on ESPN2.

The automatic bids for this year's tournament went to the conference tournament champions from Atlantic Hockey (Air Force), CCHA (Miami), ECAC (Yale), Hockey East (Boston College) and the WCHA (North Dakota). Boston College and North Dakota doubled as regular-season champions.

The 11 at-large bids went to Colorado College, Denver, Merrimack, Michigan, Minnesota-Duluth, Nebraska-Omaha, New Hampshire, Notre Dame, Rensselaer, Union and Western Michigan.

Defending champion Boston College (30-7-1), which beat Merrimack for the Hockey East title on Saturday night, is the No. 1 seed in the West region and will try to become the first repeat national champion since Denver in 2004-05.

"We need continued improvement from our team and we have a whole week to prepare. And we have [sophomore forward] Chris Kreider coming back [from a broken jaw]. He's a dynamic player who adds a lot to our team," Boston College coach Jerry York told ESPNBoston.com after winning Hockey East on Saturday night. "We didn't lose a lot of players to the NHL. We lost a good senior class, but we had a number of very good players come back to try to win another championship."

Click HERE to read more. Also, check out the schedule and the bracket.