New England Roundup: Maine

State football championships in three classes were decided at Fitzpatrick Stadium on Saturday with two teams repeating titles.

MaineCheverus extended its win streak to 24 games with its win against Lawrence in the Class A game while Yarmouth also ran its win streak to 24 straight with a win against Bucksport for its second Class C title in a row. Wells went to the wire against Leavitt before capturing its first

Class B championship since 1997.

The victories complete a sweep for Western Maine teams for the second year in a row. Here’s rundown of the games with video provided by DVM Sports, MBR.org and the Maine Sports Network.

Class A - Cheverus 49, Lawrence 7

With injured senior running back Spencer Cooke playing all but a few token minutes for Cheverus, it appeared the Stags might be challenged by a tough Lawrence defense. They weren’t as Don Goodrich scored five touchdowns, including a 92-yard kickoff return, and the Stags rolled up 509 yards of offense.

Goodrich rushed for 143 yards on 17 carries while fellow running back Brent Green picked up 179 yards on 20 carries. Wide receiver Louie DiStasio caught four passes for 130 yards.

The Bulldogs, who finished at 11-1, were hurt by five turnovers, four of which the Stags turned into scores. A fumble and an interception led to a pair of first quarter touchdowns by Green and Goodrich. Goodrich added a score early in the first quarter to make it 21-0. The Bulldogs got on the scoreboard when Anthony Sementelli scored on a 52-yard run midway through the second quarter, but Goodrich returned the ensuing kickoff 92 yards to make it 28-7 at the half.

Cheverus put the game away with 21 points in the third quarter, highlighted by a 52-yard scoring run from Goodrich. The Stags’ defense, which held opponents to 71 points in 12 games this season, limited Lawrence to 167 yards of total offense. The score was the most lopsided in a Class A title game since Cheverus beat Lewiston 65-13 in 1985.

Cooke, who sustained an injury late in the regular season and missed all of the Western Maine playoffs, carried the ball nine times for 18 yards, all in the second half. Cooke scored four touchdowns in last year’s state championship game.

Class B - Wells 21, Leavitt 13

This was the last game of the day played at Fitzpatrick Stadium and easily the most competitive of the three. Wells, which was making its first appearance in a state title game since 1997, rallied from a 13-7 deficit in the fourth quarter. The Warriors found themselves in a hole in large part because they lost two fumbles and muffed a punt.

The Warriors tied the score when quarterback Paul McDonough rolled to his left and cut back inside from 10 yards out. Joey Spinelli’s conversion kick gave the Warriors a 14-13 lead. Wells padded its lead and appeared to have the game in hand when McDonough intercepted a pass and returned it to the 3-yard line. His sneak from a yard out gave the Warriors a 21-13 lead with 2:05 left to play.

Leavitt quarterback Jordan Hersom rallied his team, helped by a one-handed catch from Ian Durgin to convert a fourth-down play at midfield by inches. a pass to Brian Bedard brought the ball inside the Wells 30, but Gavin Snapp picked off Hersom at the 19-yard line on the next play to preserve the win.

Louis DiTomasso scored on a 9-yard run to give Wells an early lead before Durgin responded with a 44-yard touchdown run, DiTomasso finished with 116 yards on 21 carries while McDonough passed for 67 yards and rushed for 72. The Wells defense held Leavitt to 277 yards. Hersom completed 9 of 16 passes for 117 yards but was intercepted three times. Bedard caught five passes for 90 yards while teammate Jake Ouellette rushed 10 times for 79 yards.

Class C - Yarmouth 41, Bucksport 14

Yarmouth running back Anders Overhaug put on one of the best shows ever seen in a state title game scoring six touchowns, four on runs, one on a pass and another on a kickoff return.

Overhaug rushed for 113 yards on 11 carries, scoring on runs of 25, 20, 30 and 1 yard. He also caught a two-yard pass from quarterback Brady Neujahr and returned a kickoff 92 yards. Yarmouth’s offensive line dominated the game leading to 258 rushing yards.

The Golden Bucks found themselves in an early hole due to mistakes. Nathaniel Shields-Aube blocked a punt to set up Yarmouth’s first score and Ben Weinrich recovered a fumble to set up the second. The Clippers led 21-0 at the end of the first quarter. Yarmouth out-gained Bucksport just 264-242 but took advantage of the blocked punt and three Bucks turnovers.

Josh Gray scored on a 55-yard run for Bucksport while teammate Shawn Smith added a touchdown and gained 77 yards on 19 carries.

Quarterback Mike Cummings rushed for 45 yards and passed for 36 before leaving the game with an injury. In addition to Overhaug, the Clippers got good games from Matt Woodbury (14 rushes, 68 yards) and Caleb Uhl (13-46).

Thanksgiving Day game

Portland and Deering meet for the 100th time in their annual Thanksgiving Day game. Portland holds the edge with 54 wins, 38 losses

and seven ties.

The teams also played for the 100th time during the regular season this fall with Deering winning 28-7. Portland also holds the advantage there, 61-29-10. Overall, Portland leads the series 115-67-17.


1. Cheverus (12-0) Stags win their second straight Class A title to run win streak to 24 games. Easily the state’s most dominant team.

2. Wells (12-0) Warriors prove they belong by knocking off a strong Leavitt team for their first state title since 1997.

3. Thornton (9-2) The second best team in Western Maine Class A, the Golden Trojans tested Cheverus in a 21-10 loss in the regional final.

4. Leavitt (11-1) Hornets nearly win their second Class B title in three years before getting nipped 21-13 by Wells.

5. South Portland (7-3) Another strong entry from Western Maine that nearly knocked off Thornton in the semifinals.

6. Lawrence (11-1) Bulldogs turn in another banner season but fail to challenge Cheverus in the state final.

7. Mt. Blue (8-2) If not for a slip in the Eastern Maine final and a one-point loss, the Cougars would have replaced Leavitt in the Class B final.

8. Yarmouth (12-0) The Class C schedule may not have been the toughest but the Clippers weren’t challenged either in running win streak to 24 games.

9. Deering (6-4) Might have fared better with an Eastern Maine schedule. Rams were the only team to test Cheverus in regular season.

10. Mountain Valley (9-2) The Falcons graduated the bulk of their offense from last year but turned in another strong season marred only by two losses to Wells.


A number of Maine runners fared well at the New England cross country championships held in North Scituate, R.I. In the boys race, Maine Class C champion Matt McClintock of Madison finished third in 15:39. Mike Marsella of Chariho High in Rhode Island won the race in 15:26, a second ahead of runner-up Connor Rog of Fairfield Prep in Connecticut.

Messalonskee’s Harlow Ladd finished ninth while Fryeburg Academy’s Silas Eastman placed 10th.

Ellie Purrier of Richford High School in Vermont won the girls race in 18:01. Emily Durgin of Cheverus finished third, Waterville’s Bethanie Brown took fifth, Maranacook’s Abby Mace placed seventh and Fiona Hendry of Cheverus took eighth.