Everett's DiBiaso is Gatorade Player of Year

With a state-record 103 career touchdown passes headed into Saturday's Division 1A Super Bowl, Everett quarterback Jonathan DiBiaso was named the state's Gatorade Player of the Year. Brendan Hall/ESPNBoston.com

In its 27th year of honoring the nation’s best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with ESPNHS, today announced Jonathan DiBiaso of Everett High School as its 2011-12 Gatorade Massachusetts Football Player of the Year. DiBiaso is the fifth Gatorade Massachusetts Football Player of the Year to be chosen from Everett High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes DiBiaso as Massachusetts’s best high school football player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Football Player of the Year award announced in December, DiBiaso joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.), Wes Welker (1999-00, Heritage Hall HS, Okla.), Terrell Suggs (1999-00, Hamilton HS, Ariz.), Anquan Boldin (1998-99, Pahokee HS, Fla.) and Jerome Bettis (1989-90, Mackenzie HS, Mich.).

The 6-foot-1, 197-pound senior quarterback led the Crimson Tide to a 12-0 record and a berth in the Division 1A Eastern Mass. Super Bowl against Lincoln-Sudbury High, scheduled for Dec. 3. DiBiaso passed for 2,731 yards and a state-record 44 touchdowns through 12 games, completing 162-of-273 passes with just six interceptions. The state’s career leader with 103 touchdown passes, DiBiaso was an inaugural member of ESPNBoston's MIAA All-State Team in 2010 when he threw a then-record 43 TD passes.

DiBiaso has maintained a 4.0 GPA in the classroom. He has volunteered locally as a Big Brother/Big Sister mentor, a peer tutor and a youth football coach.

DiBiaso remains undecided upon a collegiate destination.

DiBiaso joins recent Gatorade Massachusetts Football Players of the Year Matt Costello (2010, Everett) Nick LaSpada (2009, Billerica), Matt Grimard (2008, Dracut) and Matt Bellomo (2007, Holliston) among the state’s list of former award winners.