Westwood's McHoul is ESPN Boston Miss Lacrosse

ESPNBoston.com and its high school section announced today that Laura McHoul, senior midfielder of the Westwood High Wolverines, is the recipient of its second annual “Miss Lacrosse” award, presented annually to the top overall player in Massachusetts.

The Miss Lacrosse winner was chosen by a panel of experts made up of ESPNBoston.com staff and correspondents. McHoul will be presented with the award at a later date.

“We are honored to present Laura McHoul with the Miss Lacrosse award,” said ESPN Boston High Schools co-editor Brendan Hall, who coordinates the site’s girls lacrosse coverage. “Coming into the spring there were plenty of higher-profile athletes in the Massachusetts landscape, but in the end there were none more influential on the team’s outcome than Laura. Westwood has long been the academy of girls’ lacrosse in the Bay State, and Laura McHoul was the one throttling the engine.”

The fulcrum of a dynamic offense that scored nearly 17 goals a game, McHoul was named MVP of the Tri-Valley League after recording 148 points (63 goals, 85 assists), giving her a career total of 426 (194, 232). That include her stellar performance in the Division 1 state title game, scoring seven goals and adding five assists as the Wolverines beat Algonquin for their third state championship in four seasons. Defensively, McHoul often took on the top attackers, as the Wolverines allowed just over six goals per game.

McHoul signed a National Letter of Intent last November with the University of New Hampshire. In addition to three state titles, she also leaves Westwood as a two-time U.S. Lacrosse All-American.

The Wolverines came into the season as the No. 1 team in ESPN Boston’s poll, and after dropping a season-opening loss to Lincoln-Sudbury won 24 of their next 25 games to win their second straight MIAA Division 1 state championship. In McHoul’s four years at Westwood, the Wolverines went 96-4-1 and won three state titles, including the 24-2 state title campaign this spring.

McHoul is the second straight Wolverine to win the award. Sarah Biron, who recently completed her freshman season at Johns Hopkins University, was last year's recipient.