New England Baseball Challenge schedule and rosters

The top high school players from Massachusetts will square off against Connecticut's finest in Middletown, Conn., this weekend for the seventh annual "New England Challenge". Massachusetts Baseball Coaches Association Executive Secretary/Treasurer Steve Freker passes along more information, including schedule and rosters:

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. -— The top high school baseball players from Massachusetts will face off against their counterparts from Connecticut on Saturday in the Seventh Annual “New England Challenge” Championship games.

The Massachusetts Baseball Coaches Association (MBCA) is sending the MBCA Senior State All-Star Team and the Junior State All-Star Team to take on their respective Connecticut High School Coaches Association (CHSCA) opponents in a twin bill at Palmer Field in Middletown, Conn. The MBCA Senior All-Stars play Connecticut at 11:00 a.m. The MBCA Junior State All-Stars will play at 2:00 p.m. In the New England Challenge.

In last year’s New England Challenge, held at Tufts University in Medford, the Connecticut Seniors hung on for a 3-2 win, while the MBCA Junior State All-Stars won, 5-2.

Following are the rosters for the MBCA Senior State All-Star Team and Junior State All-Star Team:


P - Sean O’Neil (Reading), Evan Roberts (St. John’s Prep), P.J. Browne (St. John’s-Shrewsbury), Mike Bomboard (Chicopee Comp)

C - Andrew Noonan (Springfield Cathedral), Scott Manea (St. John’s-Shrewsbury)

INF - Neil O’Connor (Leominster), Jordan Roper (Lynnfield), Peter Clark (Gloucester), John Carlson (Hingham), Michael Young (Pope John Paul II)

OF - Sean McGrath (Peabody), Brent Houle (Westfield),Colby Maiola (No.Reading), Joe Caico (Holy Name), Tyler Wilson (Palmer), Matt Nicholson (Rockland)

COACHES - Rich DiScenza and Mike Kennedy (Westfield)



P - Bobby Pedersen (Acton-Boxborough), Dan Barlok (St. John’s-Shrewsbury), Ryan Earle (Archbishop Williams), David Longstreeth (Smith Academy), Bobby McNiff (Braintree), Brendan Welch (Oliver Ames)

C - Traverse Briana (Lynnfield), James Sheehan (Oxford)

INF — Chandler Debrosse (New Bedford), Ryan Lever (Leominster), Kevin Donati (Pittsfield), Jamie Carey (Amherst Regional), Matt Santos (Pope John Paul II)

OF — Dan Cacciola (Saugus), Ian Steckel (Malden Catholic), Kieran Pathak (Lincoln-Sudbury), Connor Gavin (East Bridgewater)

COACHES— Justin Richards (Oxford), Rob Kane (Wellesley), Greg Vouros (Amherst Regional)