New England Roundup: Maine

High school players who have been rivals through the years will join one another next season as four schools consolidate into two.

MaineThe neighboring communities of Livermore Falls and Jay recently decided to consolidate into one school which will be known as Spruce Mountain High School.

The adjoining towns have played in a long-standing football rivalry that goes back 72 years. The Black and Orange of the Jay Tigers and the green and yellow of the Livermore Falls Andies will be replaced by the black and green of the Spruce Mountain Phoenix.

The schools, which competed for years in the Class C Mountain Valley Conference will move to Class B next season.

Georges Valley and Rockland high schools decided several months ago to merge into one school known as Oceanside. The Black and Orange of the Rockland Tigers and the green and white of the Georges Valley Buccaneers will soon become the dark blue, light blue and white of the Oceanside Mariners.

Students will attend their last three years of high school in Rockland while freshmen classes from both communities will combine at Georges Valley High in Thomaston. Although the schools are only five miles apart, their athletic rivalry generally ended in middle school. Georges Valley has competed in Class C in Western Maine while Rockland has largely competed in Class B in Eastern Maine. With the enrollment at Oceanside expected to be in the upper 600s, the schools will compete in Eastern Maine in the Class B division of the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference.

A major change for Georges Valley athletes will be the addition of football to the list of varsity sports.


The Maine Shrine Lobster Bowl Classic for recently graduated high school football players has added two legends game. The flag games will feature alumni dating back to the first Lobster Bowl in 1990.

They’ll be held in conjunction with the Lobster Bowl itself, scheduled for July 23 at Waterhouse Field in Biddeford. Legends I begins at 1 p.m. and includes players from 1990 through 1999. It will be preceded by Legends I at noon featuring players from 2000 through 2010. Cheerleaders from past Lobster Bowls are also encouraged to take part.

The 22nd annual Maine Shrine Lobster Bowl Classic will be played at 4 p.m. An all-star bash for participants, sponsors , volunteers and their guests will be held at the Ramada Inn in Saco beginning at 8 p.m.


Bangor quarterback and safety Nick Seccareccia has accepted a partial scholarship to play football next fall for Division II Southern Connecticut State University.

The 6-foot-6 Seccareccia particularly liked the pro-style offense the team employs. Last season he helped Bangor to its second straight Eastern Maine Class A title while passing for more than 1,200 yards and 14 touchdowns.

Seccareccia will see a lot of familiar faces at Southern Connecticut including his older brother Robert who is an offensive tackle for the Owls. Former Fitzpatrick Trophy winner Jack Mallis will also play for the Owls this season after red-shirting as a freshman.


Camden Hills senior Jacob Powers recently earned a top-10 finish at the 22nd annual National Senior Wrestling Championships in Virginia Beach, Va. Powers, who went unbeaten in Maine competition, went 4-2 in the 160-pound division, just missing All-American honors which go to the top eight finishers. Powers fell 3-1 in the championship round to Missouri state champ Patrick Rhoads. He then edged Georgia state champ Jeffrey Holmes 3-1 before beating Pennsylvania’s Bobby Stewart 5-3.

He eventually lost 6-5 to Kyle Ryan of Ohio.


Deering shortstop Nick Colucci signed a national letter of intent recently to play ball at Boston College. Colucci has played on the varsity baseball team since late in his freshman year. The Rams won the state Class A title that year and the following year.

Baseball Top 10

  1. Westbrook

  2. Bangor

  3. Deering

  4. Lewiston

  5. Waterville

  6. Cheverus

  7. Scarborough

  8. Yarmouth

  9. Windham

  10. Cony

Softball Top 10

  1. South Portland

  2. Scarborough

  3. Cony

  4. Bangor

  5. Brewer

  6. Thornton

  7. Greely

  8. Skowhegan

  9. Georges Valley

  10. Medomak Valley