'33' Touchdown Club Scholarship Winners

The 33 Touchdown Club has announced the winners of its 2011 scholarships. Since 2007, the organization has award six high school football players in Massachusetts a $4,000 scholarship each, based on the following criteria: excellent football player; outstanding citizen; solid record of academic achievement; will be a candidate for financial aid; intends to play college football; a leader in the community. The organization does not consider Division 1 FBS scholarship athletes.

With a record 56 applications this year, the organization is giving out seven scholarships as opposed to the advertised six. The recipients, to be awarded this Wednesday evening at The Stockyard in Brighton, are as follows:

Rudy Favard, Malden Catholic (Sacred Heart)

Jack Carrier, Cohasset (Bowdoin)

William Maradei, Austin Prep (Anna Maria)

Dan Johnson, North Attleboro (Bowdoin)

Clarence Johnson, Weston (Bowdoin)

Ryan Barry, Longmeadow (Williams)

**Darryl Williams Award (Presented to a student athlete graduating from a public, city high shool in the greater Boston area): Chandler Ransom, O'Bryant (Curry)