New England Roundup: Connecticut

Losses don’t come much tougher than the one the Southington High School baseball team suffered against Newington in the Class LL championship game.

ConnecticutSouthington thought it had won the title when Matt Spruill scored on Sal Romano’s double in the eighth inning Monday, but the teams played on after home plate umpire Dave Bindas ruled that Spruill never touched home plate and Spruill was called out on an appeal play.

Newington went on to claim the championship by posting a 3-2 victory in 10 innings.

“I heard the crowd and it was their side cheering,” Southington coach Charlie Lembo told WFSB Channel 3 in Hartford. “Then I found out the umpire ruled that he missed home plate. I didn’t see it, but Dave’s a good umpire so I’ll have to go with that call.”

Pat Meucci reached on a single in the 10th and scored the game-winning run from second base on an infield throwing error.

That gave 17th-seeded Newington (17-8) the program’s first state championship.

Newington’s Cole Bryant pitched all 10 innings to earn the win. He threw 176 pitches, struck out 16 and held Southington to six hits.

Romano also pitched a complete game (146 pitches). All three Newington runs were unearned.

Seventh-seeded Southington, which defeated Newington twice during the regular season, completed its season with a 19-6 record.

  • Fifteenth-seeded Notre Dame-West Haven scored two runs in the bottom of the seventh to defeat 16th-seeded Farmington 2-1 in the Class L championship game.

  • Montville was held to three hits, but managed to beat 22nd-seeded Seymour 1-0 in the Class M championship game. Montville, seeded No. 20, scored on a sacrifice fly in the bottom of the sixth.

  • Second-seeded East Hampton scored five runs in the final two innings and posted an 8-2 triumph over top-seeded East Catholic in the Class S title game.


Jim Riccitelli has announced that he will not be back as the boys hockey coach at Cheshire, where he has been the head coach for the past six seasons.

Riccitelli, who plans to retire from teaching after the 2011-12 school year, said he won’t have the necessary time to devote to the hockey program next winter.

Riccitelli spent seven seasons as the Wilbur Cross boys hockey coach, 12 seasons coaching the New Haven-Shelton co-op team and eight seasons as North Haven’s coach before taking over at Cheshire. He guided the Rams to the Division III state title in 2006 and Division II titles in 2009 and 2011. Cheshire will compete in Division I next season.

Riccitelli said he may spend one more season as the softball coach at Wilbur Cross.


Here are the rosters for the 15th Hall of Fame Football Classic, which will be played July 8 at Ken Strong Stadium in West Haven:

New Haven County: Sean Goldrich (QB) Notre Dame; Zach Miller (QB) Hand; Tucker Schumitz (QB) Foran; Montrell Dobbs (RB) Ansonia; James Ward Jr. (RB) Wilbur Cross; Kevin Phillps (RB) West Haven; Steve Dejournette (WR) Hillhouse; Alec Pacelli (WR) Hand; Tyshon Shields (WR) Platt; Mike Georgalas (WR) Shelton; Riley Lefebvre (WR) Maloney; Kunimel Lomotey (WR) Branford; Ed Glenn (TE) North Haven; Chris Laporte (OL) Law; Andrew McCloskey (OL) Guilford; Shaun Reiss (OL) West Haven; Paul Perrotti (OL) North Branford; Andrew Bielefield (OL) Maloney; Conor Shea (OL) Fairfield Prep; Dashon Riley (OL) Hillhouse; Scott McNeil (OL) Lyman Hall; Zach Salazar (LB) Derby; Cody Kitson (LB) Shelton; Austen Ahern (LB) Xavier; Kyle Kalanta (LB) Amity; Marquis Leigh (LB) Hyde; Matt Murray (DB) Notre Dame; Nick Donofrio (DB) Oxford; Robert Williams (DB) Wilby; Kosy Broderick (DB) Xavier; Jordan Teague (DB) Hamden; Jordan Sebastian (DB) Hopkins; Ruben Berger (DB) Naugatuck; Anthony Vorio (DB) North Branford; Rohan Ifili (DB) Sacred Heart-Waterbury; Anthony Sanders (DL) Platt; Tyvon Williams (DL) Hillhouse; Trevor Keyes (DL) North Haven; Robert Fairweather (DL) Hyde.

Fairfield County: Joe Della Vecchia (QB) St. Joseph; Matt Lena (FB/LB) Trumbull; Mike Marini (C) St. Joseph; Jeff Wright (OL) Masuk; Evan Opdahl (OL) Norwalk; Justin Waltzer (OL) Immaculate; Brian Kelly (DB) Brookfield; Pat Murray (DL) Staples; Chris Coyne (DT) Staples; Jason Mawicke (WR) Staples; Tyler Matakevich (LB) St. Joseph; M. DesRuisseaux (DB) Stratford; Ryan Phillips (LB) Wilton; Mike Rivas (RB) Trinity Catholic; Phil Terio (WR) Trumbulll; Willie Maxen (NG) Pomperaug; Kevin Maxen (TE) Pomperaug; Dion Koumoutseas (DB) Brookfield; Zach Emilcer (DB) Westhill; Jacqui Tuck (RB) Bassick; Shabazz McIntosh (DB) Central; Alex Delaney (RB) Warde; James Barrett (DE) Greenwich; Tim Allen (DE) Masuk; Joe Diaz (DE) Masuk; Steven Buczek (LB/FB) Bunnell; Matthew Becker (WR) New Milford; Max Nacewicz (LB) Newtown; Kevin Harrigan (RB) Notre Dame; Dominic Williams (DB) Stratford; Zaire Reiph (DB) St. Luke's; Alvin Garcia (DT) Harding; Giuseppe Parisi (WR) Danbury; Shea McGorty (LB) Brookfield; Matt Datin (RB) Newtown; Nick Adzima (OL) St. Joseph; Eddie Hutchins (RB/SS) Weston; Clement Abonyi (DB) McMahon; Brandon Davis (WR) McMahon; Mark Robinson (DT) Stamford; Nicolas Rodriguez (QB/S) Bullard Havens.


The Foran softball team had to wait a little longer than it originally expected, but the Lions captured the Class L softball championship by beating Bacon Academy on Monday.

Third-seeded Foran and top-seeded Bacon Academy were supposed to meet Saturday, but the game was postponed because of rain.

Foran, which lost three of its first five games, completed its season with a 22-4 record. Bacon Academy also finished 22-4.

It was a bad year for No. 1 teams in all classes as third-seeded Conard won the Class LL championship by posting a 4-1 victory over top-seeded Westhill; Sacred Heart, the No. 23 seed, defeated top-seeded Seymour 4-1 in the Class M championship game, and second-seeded Hale Ray won the Class S title by beating top-seeded Terryville, 6-0.


United States Lacrosse has selected 15 All-Americans from Connecticut: defenseman Torrey Martone (Cheshire), attackman Case Matheis (Darien), midfielder Graham Maybell (Darien), midfielder J.P. Walsh (Darien) defenseman Eric Parnon (Darien), attackman Michael Francia (Wilton), defenseman Pat Holland (Wilton), goaltender Sam Somers (Wilton), midfielder Andrew Buckanavage (Ridgefield), defenseman Matthew Shannon (Ridgefield), goaltender Parker Burr (Simsbury), midfielder Joe Costigan (New Canaan), midfielder David Dickson (Greenwich), midfielder Ryan Mallon (New Fairfield) and midfielder Kip Orban (Staples).

The players will be honored at the Connecticut High School Coaches’ Association all-state banquet on Tuesday at the Aqua Turf in Southington.


Sixth-seeded Ridgefield overcame an early five-goal deficit to defeat fourth-seeded Fairfield Prep 11-10 in the Class L boys lacrosse championship game.

All but one of Ridgefield’s 11 goals were scored by underclassmen. Junior Sean Wilkinson broke a 10-10 tie by scoring with 14.5 seconds remaining.

Roger Brown has covered high school sports in New England since 1992. He currently covers high school and college football in the Northeast for ESPN/Scouts Inc.