New England Roundup: Vermont

Rice Memorial guard Reagan Jewell and Essex guard Ben Ferris have been selected as Vermont’s Miss Basketball and Mr. Basketball, respectively, for the 2010-11 season.

VermontThe awards, which are given to the top boys and girls player in the state, are determined by the Burlington Free Press.

Jewell helped Rice win last season’s Division I championship by beating Champlain Valley Union 45-36 in the title game. The Green Knights completed the season with a 19-5 record and won the program’s first state championship since 2001.

Jewell led Rice in scoring (14 points per game), rebounds (10.0), assists (4.2), steals (3.0) and blocked shots (3.0).

She will continue her basketball career at Holy Family University, a Division II school in Philadelphia.

Ferris helped Essex win the 2009-10 Division I title. He was the only returning starter from that team and averaged 23.4 points, 10.2 rebounds and 6.5 assists per contest last season.

Essex finished the season with an 11-10 record after it won eight of its last 11 games. The Hornets were one of two teams to defeat Division I champion Rice during the regular season.

Ferris became the fifth player in the program’s history to score more than 1,000 career points in high school. He will play college basketball for Division III Tufts University.

Ferris was also selected as Vermont’s Gatorade Player of the Year following the 2010-11 season.


All-League boys and girls basketball selections as voted on by members of the Vermont Basketball Coaches’ Association:


Metro Division

Player of the Year: Reagan Jewell, Rice, senior.

Coach of the Year: Tim Rice, Rice.

First Team

Jamie Panton, Essex, senior; Brittany Robertson, Burlington, senior; Adama Kay, St. Johnsbury, senior; Liesl Verderber, BFA-St. Albans, senior; Shae Hulbert, Champlain Valley, senior.

Lake Division

Player of the Year: Rachel Crews, South Burlington, senior.

Coach of the Year: T.J. Sawyer, Colchester.

First Team

Rachel Crews, South Burlington, senior; Katie Ritter, Middlebury, senior; Jenn Loyer, Mount Abraham, senior; Hannah Nichols, Mount Mansfield, senior; Natalie Wimett, South Burlington, senior.

Capital Division

Player of the Year: Chelsea Dunham, Lamoille, senior.

Coach of the Year: Brian Musty, Oxbow.

First Team

Katie LaFreniere, Lamoille, junior; Riley Blankenship, Lyndon, junior; Caroline Dellipriscoli, Montpelier, senior; Tori Brill, Oxbow, senior; Karley Hamilton, Oxbow, junior.

Mountain Division

Player of the Year: Danika Gallup, Lake Region, senior.

Coach of the Year: Gary Geddes, Enosburg.

First Team

Alyssa Whitney, Hazen, sophomore; Jade Desroches, Enosburg, senior; Kylie Atwood, Lake Region, junior; Meghan McMullen, Northfield, sophomore; Kaleigh Newton, Peoples, senior; Kaitlyn McMullen, Northfield, senior.

Central Vermont League

North Division

First Team: Charlotte Robinson, Cabot, senior; Raelene Begin, Canaan, senior; Rebecca Young, Concord, senior; Dannika Dobrowski, Twinfield, senior; Lourdes Perry, Williamstown, junior.

South Division

First Team: Aimee Thompson, Blue Mountain, junior; Whitney Ladd, Chelsea, junior; Lacey Stever, Rivendell, sophomore; Madison Fuller, Rochester, junior; Daley Crowley, Rochester, senior.

Marble Valley League

Division A

First Team: Sarah Illingworth, Hartford, junior; Jenna Hoffman, Burr and Burton, senior; Abby Iannotti, Mount Anthony, junior; Alyssa Moore, Rutland, senior; Maresa Bowen, Rutland, sophomore.

Coach of the Year: Paul Freed, Brattleboro.

Division B

First Team: Desmond Dana, Springfield, senior; Kristy Pinkham, Otter Valley, senior; Kaitlin Callahan, Windsor, senior; Abigail Wright, Windsor, junior; Devyn Reed, Fair Haven, senior; Chelsea Bagley, Mill River, senior.

Coach of the Year: Bruce Mackay, Windsor.

Division C

First Team: Carley Stauffer, Green Mountain, senior; Ali Jones, Poultney, junior; Carissa Elrick, Proctor, sophomore; Samantha Bernard, Twin Valley, senior; Julie Comstock, Green Mountain, senior; Kelly Festa, Poultney, senior; Alyson Marcucci, Leland & Gray, senior; Maggie Belnap, Arlington, senior.

Coaches of the Year: Dan Jones, Poultney, Chris Hughes, Proctor.


Metro Division

Player of the Year: Ben Ferris, Essex, senior.

Coach of the Year: Joe Maheux, Colchester.

First Team: Ben Ferris, Essex, senior; Evan Tullar, Spaulding, senior; Austin Robinson, Rice, senior; Jake Donnelly, Champlain Valley, senior; Ethan Brown, Mount Mansfield, senior.

Lake Division

Co-players of the Year: Nick Swim, BFA-St. Albans, senior; Matt St. Amour, Missisquoi, sophomore.

Coach of the Year: Jim Bose, Missisquoi.

First Team: Nick Swim, BFA-St. Albans, senior; Cory Chase, Milton, senior; Matt St. Amour, Missisquoi, sophomore; Kyle Lumsden, Missisquoi, senior; Ben Fournier, Missisquoi, senior.

Mountain Division

Player of the Year: Ryan Tatro, Hazen, senior.

Coach of the Year: Stephen Jette, Enosburg.

First Team: Ryan Tatro, Hazen, senior; Wil Gleason, Enosburg, junior; Matt Chamberlin, Danville, senior; Jalen Miller, Winooski, senior; Solomon Little, Danville, junior.

Marble Valley League

Division A

First Team: Clayton Palmer, Mount Anthony, senior; Alex Snyder, Rutland, senior; Troy Davine, Rutland, senior; Charles McVay, Mount Anthony, senior; Travis Elliott-Knaggs, Brattleboro, senior.

Co-coaches of the year: Mike Wood, Rutland; Dan Sleeman, Mount Anthony.

Division B

First Team: Robert Coloutti, Fair Haven, junior; Jaskin Melendez, Mount St. Joseph, junior; Nate Halligan, Mill River, senior; Jay Carleton, Mill River, sophomore; Jacob Page, Windsor, senior; Tanner Dana, Windsor; Josh Claflin, Hartford, sophomore.

Coach of the Year: Jason Smith, Mill River.

Division C

First Team: Nate Salgo, Proctor, junior; Adan Garcia, West Rutland, senior; Matt Bizon, Leland & Gray, senior; Matt Dobart, Proctor, senior; Jason Albert, Green Mountain, senior; Josh Fontaine, Leland & Gray, senior; Alex Hawley, Arlington.

Coach of the Year: Dick Wilcox.

Central Vermont League

North Division

First Team: Andrew Marckres, Craftsbury, junior; Chad Copeland, Twinfield, junior; David Codling, Twinfield, sophomore; Jason Manwaring, Williamstown, forward; Kyle Benway, Williamstown, senior.

South Division

First Team: Edward Soucie, Blue Mountain, junior; Dylan Pelletier, Rivendell, junior; Pavin Parrish, Rochester, freshman; Brian Falzo, South Royalton, senior; Jackson Howe, South Royalton, senior.


Eleven schools in the United States entered the 2011 high school baseball season seeking a fourth consecutive state championship. Leland & Gray is among them.

“I think we’ve had a great opportunity to get a lot of experience playing in playoff situations,” Leland & Gray coach Tom Russell said. “Every year it gets tougher and tougher to do.”

Leland & Gray has won 12 straight playoff games since it lost to BFA-Fairfax in the 2007 quarterfinals. The Rebels have defeated Poultney, Northfield and Oxbow in the last three Division III state championship games.

Leland & Gray returned five players who hit better than .300 last season: Drew Barnum (.381), Brandon Reilly (.328), Colin Nystrom (.320), Forrest Hamer (.313) and Noah Chapin (.308).


South Burlington senior Natalie Wimett will continue her basketball career at St. Michael’s College in Colchester, Vt.

Wimett, a 5-foot-9 guard, helped South Burlington earn the No. 1 seed in the Division I tournament last winter. The Rebels finished the season with a 17-3 record after losing to fifth-seeded Champlain Valley in the semifinals. Wimett averaged 12.3 points and 7.1 rebounds per game last season. She shot 33 percent from behind the 3-point arc.

St. Michael’s competes in the Northeast-10 Conference.

Roger Brown has covered high school sports in New England since 1992. He currently covers high school and college football in the Northeast for ESPN/Scouts Inc.