New England Roundup: Vermont

Woodstock Union High School football coach Jim McLaughlin won the 200th game of his coaching career Saturday, and it couldn't have come at a better time.

VermontMcLaughlin guided top-seeded Woodstock to a 27-7 victory over third-seeded Windsor in the Division III championship game at Castleton State College. It was the eighth state title McLaughlin's teams have won in his 30 years as a head coach.

Junior fullback Ed Doton did most of the damage for Woodstock, which began the season with back-to-back losses before winning nine in a row. Doton rushed for 255 yards and three touchdowns.

“If you look at it as a puzzle, the pieces really came together for us as the season went along,” McLaughlin said.

Woodstock, which led 14-0 at halftime, held Windsor running back Matt Rafus to 40 yards on 14 carries. Rafus finished the season with 1,881 yards rushing and 27 touchdowns.

Windsor's only touchdown came on a blocked field goal attempt that Ethan Hill returned 75 yards. Windsor completed its season with a 7-4 record.

In Saturday's other championship games top-seeded Hartford beat third-seeded Middlebury 42-6 to win the Division I title; and third-seeded Fair Haven outscored fourth-seeded Burr and Burton 57-34 to win the Division II title.

Hartford 42, Middlebury 6

Hartford dominated on both sides of the ball and won its fourth championship in the last five years.

Miles Latham rushed for 102 yards and two touchdowns, and Troy Bell ran for 109 yards to help the Hurricanes completed an unbeaten season (11-0). Hartford scored four second-half touchdowns.

Middlebury (9-2) played without quarterback Dillon Robinson, who was injured in the team's semifinal victory over BFA-St. Albans. Middlebury's only touchdown came when Marshall Hastings returned a kickoff 79 yards for a score.

Hartford, which had a 444-88 edge in net offense, outscored its opponents 508-112 this season.

Fair Haven 57, Burr and Burton 34

Quarterback Robert Coloutti ran for 141 yards and passed for 147 as Fair Haven (9-2) won its first title since 2001, and it's fifth championship overall.

Austin Amery ran for 135 and two touchdowns. The Slaters produced 506 yards off offense.

Burr and Burton quarterback Jake Stalcup completed 19 of 41 passes for 293 yards and two touchdowns in the loss. Eamon Walsh caught eight passes for 151 yards, and Jake Oliver made six receptions for 102 yards.

Burr and Burton completed its season with a 7-4 record.


North Country football coach Bob Davis retired after his team lost in the Division II semifinals earlier this month, but he'll coach in one more game before he hangs up his whistle.

Davis will coach the North All-Stars in Saturday's North-South Senior Bowl, which will be played at Middlebury College (12:30 p.m. kickoff). Rutland's Mike Norman will coach the South team. The rosters for each team:


Bellows Falls: Will Bourne, Joe Aslin.

Brattleboro: Hassan Cansler, Andy Hale.

Burr and Burton: Adis Muminovic, Jake Oliver, Grady Murtagh, Ben Hunter, Matt Fortier.

Fair Haven: Levi Ellis, Robert Coloutti, Derrick Hernandez, Neal Hier, Parker Lamoureux.

Hartford: Tucker Stone, Travis Wilson, Troy Bell, Bobby Murray, Steven Ladka, Owen Newton.

Middlebury: Dillon Robinson, Marshall Hastings, Patrick Foley, Austin Quesnel, Joey Zeno.

Mill River: Leo Audy, Adam Mackey.

Mount Anthony: Jon Seward, Alex Cross, Matt Keir.

Mount St. Joseph: Rob Cassell.

Otter Valley: Rob Fjeld, Cody Randall.

Oxbow: Sam Kelly.

Poultney: Shawn Kerber.

Rutland: Kyle Kelly, KC Mee, John Norman, Mack Shea, Ryan Ragosta.

Springfield: Kirk Perham, James Stillings.

Windsor: Matt Rafus.

Woodstock: Conner Blair.


BFA-Fairfax: Joe Langelier, Kody Ballard.

BFA-St. Albans: Mike Schreiner, Zach Devoid, Taylor Raftery, Ben Thieken, Oliver Manning.

Burlington: Andrew Richards.

Champlain Valley: Drew Nick, Tucker Kohlasch, Dylan Raymond, Quinn Kropf, Ryan Fleming.

Colchester: Alec Kozlowski, Eric Decker.

Essex: Trevor Yandow, Mike Fraser, Matt Mulcahy.

Lyndon: Craig St. Hilaire.

Milton: Jayson Collette, Michael McClellan, Dylan Crook, Jamie Holbrook and Nik Couture.

Mount Abraham: Ian Shaw.

Mount Mansfield: TJ Wesson.

Montpelier: Armin Milak.

North Country: Tre Sanville, Nick LeClair, Ben Bonneau, Adam Fortin, Jason Webster and Cody Collins.

Rice: Connor Langlais, Thomas Kane.

St. Johnsbury: Lincoln Lemieux, Richard Emery.

Spaulding: Jeff Ziske.

South Burlington: Evan Nolting, Will Thompson, Connor DeVarney and Sean Lunny.

U-32: Sean Warren.

Winooski: Devon Rollins, Cody Hemingway.


Vermont runners dominated the girls portion of Saturday's New England high school cross country championships at Ponaganset High School in North Scituate, R.I.

Champlain Valley Union won its second straight girls team title, and Richford’s Elle Purrier crossed the finish line first in record time.

Purrier, Vermont's Division III state champion, completed the race in 18 minutes, 1 second, which was 14 seconds faster than the previous course record.

CVU's team championship was its third since 2003. Taylor Spillane (fourth), Aleksey Jordick (36th), Julienne DeVita (48th), Adrienne DeVita (52nd) and Autumn Eastman (56th) scored for the Redhawks, who won Vermont's Division I championship.

Colchester's Brendan Copley was the top finisher among Vermont boys. He finished 12th in 16:16.

St. Johnsbury placed 13th and was the top Vermont boys team.

Roger Brown has covered high school sports in New England since 1992. He currently covers high school and college football in the Northeast for ESPN/Scouts Inc.