Kraft wins PFWA's Halas Award

Patriots owner Robert Kraft has been selected as the 2012 George Halas Award winner by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA), it was announced today.

Kraft is the first NFL owner and first member of the Patriots franchise to receive the honor from the PFWA. He was one of four finalists, along with Browns linebacker D'Qwell Jackson, 49ers quarterback Alex Smith, and Lions quarterback Matthew Stafford.

The Halas Award is given to a NFL player, coach or staff member who overcomes the most adversity to succeed. Kraft played an instrumental role in last summer’s collective bargaining negotiations between the NFL and the NFL Players Association during his late wife Myra’s battle with cancer.

For the official news release, and the history of the award, CLICK HERE.

Also on Monday, it was announced that Kraft will be inducted into the Columbia University Athletics Hall of Fame, with a ceremony to be held on Oct. 18. Kraft earned two letters in football, first as a member of the freshman football team in 1959, then as a member of the varsity lightweight football team in 1960. An injury sustained during the second game of his junior year ended Kraft’s playing career.