Wilfork is lone Patriots' All-Pro

Defensive lineman Vince Wilfork was the lone Patriot voted to the first-unit Associated Press All-Pro team, which was announced Saturday.

An All-Pro honor is considered by many players to be more meaningful than the Pro Bowl, because there are fewer spots and it covers both conferences. The Associated Press has a panel of 50 voters from around the country making the selections.

Here are a few of the positions of note where Patriots players received votes:

Quarterback. Denver's Peyton Manning (43 votes) and Green Bay's Aaron Rodgers (4) were voted in. Tom Brady (3) just missed the cut.

Tight end. Atlanta's Tony Gonzalez and Dallas' Jason Witten were voted in, with Rob Gronkowski's injury hurting his candidacy (he received four votes).

Wide receiver. Detroit's Calvin Johnson and Chicago's Brandon Marshall are starters, with Cincinnati's A.J. Green and Houston's Andre Johnson the backups. Wes Welker received one vote.

Offensive tackle. Houston's Duane Brown and Denver's Ryan Clady got the starting nods, with Cleveland's Joe Thomas and San Francisco's Joe Staley the backups. Patriots tight tackle Sebastian Vollmer got one vote.

Offensive guard. San Francisco's Mike Iupati and New Orleans' Jahri Evans are starters, with Baltimore's Marshall Yanda and New England's Logan Mankins on the second team. Mankins received seven votes.

Defensive tackle. Wilfork earned 27 votes to comfortably earn one of the starting spots alongside Cincinnati's Geno Atkins. San Francisco's Justin Smith, Baltimore's Haloti Ngata and Detroit's Ndamukong Suh get the second-team honors.

Inside linebackers. It's a San Francisco sweep with Patrick Willis and NaVorro Bowman on the first team, and then Arizona's Daryl Washington and Washington's London Fletcher on the second team. New England's Jerod Mayo received four votes as the sixth-highest vote-getter.

Safety. Seattle's Earl Thomas and San Francisco's Dashon Goldson got the starting nod, with San Diego's Eric Weddle and Buffalo's Jairus Byrd the second-teamers. Devin McCourty was one of eight players to receive one vote.