Stacking up Brady's cap number

One of the takeaways from Tom Brady's new contract is that he'll be a very affordable commodity during the three years tacked on to his previous deal.

In addition, Brady created cap flexibility during the first two seasons of the deal by lowering his cap number from $21.8 million over each of the next two seasons to $13.8 million and $14.8 million for 2013 and 2014, respectively.

Prior to the new deal, Brady's cap hit of $21.8 million for 2013 topped all NFL quarterbacks. With the dramatically reduced cap hit, Brady has slid down the list of top cap hits among quarterbacks, now placing ninth.

The list is as follows:

1. Eli Manning, Giants: $20.85M

2. Matthew Stafford, Lions: $20.82M

3. Peyton Manning, Broncos: $20M

4. Ben Roethlisberger, Steelers: $19.595M

5. Drew Brees, Saints: $17.4M

6. Philip Rivers, Chargers: $17.11M

7. Tony Romo, Cowboys: $16.818M

8. Caron Palmer, Raider: $15.335M

9. Tom Brady, Patriots: $13.8M

10. Kevin Kolb, Cardinals: $13.5M