Pats Hall committee to meet next week

For the seventh consecutive year, a committee of New England media members, Patriots staff and alumni will gather to nominate, debate and vote for their top three candidates for induction into the Patriots Hall of Fame.

This year's meeting is scheduled for next Thursday.

Once the votes are tabulated, one of the three finalists will be chosen by fan vote on Patriots.com, as has been the case since this process was introduced in 2007.

Part of what defines this year's discussion is the strong group of first-year candidates, which includes linebacker Tedy Bruschi, safety Rodney Harrison and outside linebacker Willie McGinest.

Every former Patriots player or head coach who has been retired for at least four years is eligible for consideration.

Another special twist this year is that longtime radio play-by-play voice Gil Santos will also be enshrined, as announced by the team during the playoffs. Santos retired following the 2012 season.

Current members of the Patriots Hall of Fame:

John Hannah (1991)

Nick Buoniconti (1992)

Gino Cappelletti (1992)

Bob Dee (1993)

Jim Lee Hunt (1993)

Steve Nelson (1993)

Vito "Babe" Parilli (1993)

Mike Haynes (1994)

Steve Grogan (1995)

Andre Tippett (1999)

Bruce Armstrong (2001)

Stanley Morgan (2007)

Ben Coates (2008)

Jim Nance (2009)

Billy Sullivan (2009)

Sam Cunningham (2010)

Jon Morris (2011)

Drew Bledsoe (2011)

Troy Brown (2012)