Lineups: Avila catching for Tigers

As expected, Xander Bogaerts is starting at third base and batting ninth in the Red Sox lineup as Boston tries to finish off the Detroit Tigers in Game 6.

For the Tigers, catcher Alex Avila is starting and batting sixth despite suffering a strained patellar tendon in his left knee in Game 5. He was shaken up in the second inning Thursday when David Ross plowed into him while trying to jar the ball loose in a home plate collision. Avila also took some dings from foul tips and bounced pitches and exited Game 5 in the bottom of the fourth inning. Avila has a great track record against Red Sox starter Clay Buchholz, batting .455 (5-for-11) with a home run (which he hit in Game 2) and four RBIs.

Red Sox outfielder Jonny Gomes starts in left for the fourth time in this American League Championship Series, keeping Daniel Nava on the bench. Gomes got the starting nod in all three Red Sox victories, while Nava's two starts came in Boston losses, Games 1 and 4. Nava is 2-for-6 with a walk in the ALCS, while Gomes is hitting .167 (2-for-12) in the series after going 0-for-4 but scoring a run in Game 5.

Right fielder Shane Victorino remains in the 2-hole behind leadoff man Jacoby Ellsbury. Sox manager John Farrell said Friday he was thinking of dropping Victorino lower but opted against it. Victorino is 2-for-21 in the ALCS after an 0-for-5 Game 5 in which he initially reverted to switch hitting, batting lefty for the first time since Sept. 3. He hit from the left side and went 0-for-3 against Tigers starter Anibal Sanchez then went back to batting righty against right-handed relievers Jose Veras and Al Alburquerque, striking out both times.

Red Sox lineup:

1. Jacoby Ellsbury CF

2. Shane Victorino RF

3. Dustin Pedroia 2B

4. David Ortiz DH

5. Mike Napoli 1B

6. Jarrod Saltalamacchia C

7. Jonny Gomes LF

8. Stephen Drew SS

9. Xander Bogaerts 3B

Clay Buchholz SP

Tigers lineup:

1. Torii Hunter RF

2. Miguel Cabrera 3B

3. Prince Fielder 1B

4. Victor Martinez DH

5. Jhonny Peralta LF

6. Alex Avila C

7. Omar Infante 2B

8. Austin Jackson CF

9. Jose Iglesias SS

Max Scherzer P