Managers of the Year announced tonight

ESPN baseball analyst and former major league general manager Jim Bowden picks Red Sox skipper John Farrell as his Manager of the Year, an award that will be officially announced tonight.

In making his case for Farrell, Bowden points to the obvious: a worst-to-first turnaround and a complete reversal of clubhouse culture.

"Farrell took a team that was 69-93 a year ago and turned it into a world championship club this past season,” Bowden said. “The Red Sox were only the second team in baseball history to go from last place to a world championship."

Here’s how Bowden ranks the candidates:

4. Joe Girardi, Yankees

3. Bob Melvin, Athletics

2. Terry Francona, Indians

1. John Farrell, Red Sox

The award, which was voted on by the Baseball Writers' Association of America before the postseason, will be announced at 6 p.m. ET. Farrell is the favorite to win it.