1st-period reaction: Caps 1, Bruins 0

BOSTON -- The first period is over and the underdog Washington Capitals are once again giving the Boston Bruins all they can handle, taking a 1-0 lead on Matt Hendricks' goal at 11:23. Here’s a quick look at Game 7's early action:

Chimera continues to be thorn in Bruins side: While he didn’t score the first goal of the game, Jason Chimera assisted on it as his grit and hustle continue to pay off for the Capitals. Chimera also got under the skin of Bruins captain Milan Lucic, who went after him by the benches.

Lucic's errant clear leads to Caps goal: Milan Lucic had a great Game 6 in setting up Tyler Seguin's overtime winner, but Game 7 did not get off to a good start for the rugged Bruins winger. He made an errant pass that led to the Hendricks goal. Lucic seems a little too pumped up and hopefully can calm down for the second period.

Power failure: The Bruins will still have 10 seconds left on their first power play of Game 7, but so far the man-advantage has been status quo: They look to be skating in quick sand. The Bruins spent most of this power play in their own end and need to jump-start it in the second.

Rookie Holtby outshines veteran Thomas: If anyone wondered if Braden Holtby would finally show his human side and have some Game 7 jitters, that’s not happening. The Caps netminder continued to shine, outdueling Tim Thomas in the opening frame while making 11 saves to Thomas’ 4. However, it should be noted that the Capitals goal was by no means Thomas’ fault.

Thornton and Corvo stay out; Mottau and Caron in: Claude Julien went with the same lineup he had in Washington for Game 6 as Shawn Thornton was a healthy scratch again and Joe Corvo remained sidelined with an undisclosed injury he suffered in Game 5. Jordan Caron took Thornton’s spot up front again and Mike Mottau was on the blue line for Corvo. Here’s what the lineup looked like:

Milan Lucic-David Krejci-Tyler Seguin

Brad Marchand-Patrice Bergeron-Rich Peverley

Benoit Pouliot-Chris Kelly-Brian Rolston

Daniel Paille-Gregory Campbell-Jordan Caron

Zdeno Chara-Dennis Seidenberg

Andrew Ference-Johnny Boychuk

Greg Zanon-Mike Mottau

Tim Thomas

Tuukka Rask