Pro Bowl selections: Buffalo Bills

The NFL announced its rosters for the 2014 Pro Bowl on Friday evening, and three Buffalo Bills players were selected to the squad: defensive end Mario Williams, defensive tackle Kyle Williams and safety Jairus Byrd.

Despite finishing first in fan voting at their respective positions, linebacker Kiko Alonso and defensive tackle Marcell Dareus were not selected.

Fan voting accounts for one-third of the selection process. Votes from players and coaches make up the other two-thirds.

Alonso ranks fourth in the NFL with 145 tackles and has played every defensive snap this season. However, it could be argued that Alonso's tackles are inflated by the Bills' defense staying on the field -- it ranks seventh in the NFL in total defensive snaps -- while Alonso has not recorded an interception or forced fumble since the first month of the season.

Dareus set a career high with 7.5 sacks.

This is the third Pro Bowl appearance for all three Bills players selected.

Click here for the complete Pro Bowl roster.