Reed among Hall of Fame nominees

The Pro Football Hall of Fame on Thursday announced 126 modern-era nominees for its upcoming Class of 2014.

There were no first-year eligible former Buffalo Bills players on the list, but wide receiver Andre Reed, a finalist last year, headlines the nominees for the Bills this year.

More from the Hall of Fame on the selection process:

From the list, that includes 16 first-year eligible candidates, the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee will choose 25 candidates who will advance as semifinalist nominees. The list of 25 semifinalist nominees will be announced in late November. That semifinalist list will be further reduced by a mail ballot to 15 modern-era finalists and announced in early January.The Class of 2014 will be selected from the list of the 15 modern-era finalists plus the two senior nominees (former Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders punter Ray Guy and former Atlanta Falcons and Philadelphia Eagles defensive end Claude Humphrey) who were selected last month by the Hall of Fame’s Senior Selection Committee.

The actual voting for the Class of 2014 will be conducted at the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee’s annual meeting, which will be held in New York City on Saturday, Feb. 1, 2014, the day before Super Bowl XLVIII. The election results will be announced at a live announcement show that evening.

Full list of eligible former Bills:


WR Andre Reed (1985-99)


QB Drew Bledsoe (2002-04)

QB Doug Flutie (1998-2000)

FB Larry Centers (2001-02)

C Kent Hull (1986-96)

DL Fred Smerlas (1979-89)

DL Ted Washington (1995-2000)

LB Cornelius Bennett (1987-95)

LB Darryl Talley (1983-94)

DB Troy Vincent (2004-06)

ST Steve Tasker (1986-97)

Coach Chuck Knox (1978-82)

Coach Lou Saban (1972-76)

General manager Bill Polian (1984-92)