Blackhawks take advantage of penalty shot

DETROIT -- Another questionable officiating call found its way into the spotlight of the Chicago Blackhawks-Detroit Red Wings Western Conference semifinal series during Game 6 on Monday.

The Blackhawks’ game-winning goal in Monday’s 4-3 victory, which tied the series at 3-3, was the result of a penalty shot given to Blackhawks forward Michael Frolik after Red Wings defenseman Carlo Colaiacovo was called for slashing Frolik from behind on a breakaway at 9:43 of the third period.

Frolik beat Red Wings goaltender Jimmy Howard with a backhanded shot and gave the Blackhawks a 4-2 lead. The Red Wings trimmed the lead to 4-3 with a goal in the final minute of the third period.

Frolik and Colaiacovo disagreed on whether Colaiacovo’s stick made contact with Frolik’s hand as they approached the net.

“I haven't seen the play,” Colaiacovo said. “I didn't think I hit him in the hand. I thought I hit him in his pants. It's an unfortunate call. ... I was surprised they called a penalty shot.”

Frolik said he felt otherwise.

“I feel his stick on my hand,” Frolik said. “That’s why I lose the puck. The referee called it.”

Colaiacovo’s shock was shared by some of his teammates.

“I was kind of surprised that it was called there, to be honest with you,” Red Wings forward Patrick Eaves said. “It’s over and done with, so we’ll move on.”

Red Wings coach Mike Babcock kept his opinion to himself on the penalty shot, but he said he was more surprised by a tripping call on Red Wings forward Pavel Datsyuk in the third period.

“I thought the worse call of the night was the one on Datsyuk,” Babcock said.

The Blackhawks previously questioned an official’s call in Game 3 when Andrew Shaw was whistled for interference with the goaltender, which resulted in a Blackhawks goal being waved off. The Blackhawks would have tied the game at 2-all in the third period. The Red Wings won the game 3-1.