Toews named Selke Trophy finalist

Chicago Blackhawks forward Jonathan Toews was named a finalist for the Frank J. Selke Trophy, which is given to the best defensive forward, on Wednesday.

"Its a good feeling for sure," Toews said. "It's definitely an honor and something special. You look at the other two players nominated and it's an honor to be mentioned in the same sentence as those two guys, so pretty cool feeling."

Toews joined the Boston Bruins' Patrice Bergeron and Detroit Red Wings' Pavel Datsyuk as finalists. The award is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

Toews ranked third in the NHL with a plus-28 rating and was tied with Datsyuk for a league-best 56 takeaways. Toews was also among the league leaders with 48 points, which included 23 goals and 25 assists, and a 59.9 faceoff percentage.

Toews was also a finalist for the award in the 2010-11 season. He finished second in the voting that year.

"I thought Johnny had an oustanding year," coach Joel Quenneville said. "You can mention him in Hart (trophy) you can mention him in Selke as well ... Very deserving. We think he did a great job in that area."

Troy Murray (1986) and Dirk Graham (1991) previously won the award for the Blackhawks.

The winner of the Frank J. Selke Trophy will be announced during the Stanley Cup final series.