B1G coaches tourney results: Game 2

We're back with the results from Game 2 of our Big Ten all-time coaches tournament, which kicked off last Thursday.

I wondered how some of the figures from way back in history would fare against coaches most modern fans are much more familiar with. But Michigan's Fielding Yost won the first game of our tournament, and the second winner came from a school no longer even in the Big Ten.

No. 6 seed Chicago's Amos Alonzo Stagg took down No. 11 Iowa's Hayden Fry by your vote of 56 percent to 44 percent. Stagg advanced to face No. 3-seed Tom Osborne later this week in the second round.

Here are a few of your comments about the voting, which were interesting because I didn't hear from a lot of vocal Stagg supporters (anyone still alive who saw him coach?).

Erik S. from Pittsburgh: I picked Coach Stagg because if we're honest, he won in a time when football was a big business as well (before pro football started really competing) and he snagged a Michigan recruit here and there in very impressive ways.

Jarrod from Sioux City, Iowa: Hayden Fry advances. Three reasons: 3. Outstanding coaching tree. 2. Took an awful program and made them relevant again. 1. Pink visitor's locker room. Next up, please!

Mike S. from Parts Unknown: As a loyal Hawkeye, I voted for Fry. With due respect to Stagg, I don't think a college coach ever faced a worse situation than Fry. Iowa football had 19 straight losing years before Hayden came to Iowa City. And he had them in the Rose Bowl in three years and ranked No. 1 in the country in six years. Even more impressive is his coaching tree. Everyone says Miami (Ohio) is the standard, but I would stack up Hayden's tree -- Bill Snyder (who turned around Kansas State), Barry Alvarez (Wisconsin HC); Bret Bielema (Wisconsin and Arkansas HC); Dan McCarney (Iowa State and North Texas HC); Kirk Ferentz (Iowa HC), Bob Stoops (Oklahoma HC), Bobby Diaco (UConn HC) and Jay Norvell (Oklahoma OC), to name just a few. Go Hawks!