Persa among locals on awards watch list

A number of area college football players were named to the Maxwell Award (nation’s top all-around player) and Bednarik Award (top defensive player) watch lists on Tuesday.

Northwestern senior quarterback Dan Persa, Illinois sophomore quarterback Nathan Scheelhaase, Northern Illinois senior quarterback Chandler Harnish, Notre Dame senior quarterback Dayne Crist and Notre Dame senior wide receiver Michael Floyd were among the 66 players named to the Maxwell Award watch list. Auburn quarterback Cam Newton won it last year.

Northwestern senior defensive end Vince Browne and Notre Dame junior linebacker Manti Te’o were among the 65 players named to Bednarik Award watch list. LSU defensive back Patrick Peterson won it in 2010.