Brown to receive Silver Anniversary Award

Former Notre Dame star and 1987 Heisman Trophy winner Tim Brown is one of six recipients of the NCAA's Silver Anniversary Award, which recognizes distinguished individuals on the 25th anniversary of the end of their college careers.

Brown is joined by Doris Burke, Kevin Johnson, Sean Payton, Amy Perko and David Robinson.

They will all be recognized Jan. 13 during the NCAA Convention in Indianapolis.

Brown was the Irish's seventh Heisman Trophy winner and a two-time All-American who went on to a 16-year career with the Oakland Raiders. He is currently the national chairman and spokesperson for Athletes and Entertainers for Kids and 9-1-1 For Kids.