Seven local players added to Lombardi list

Illinois offensive tackle Jeff Allen, Northwestern defensive end Vince Browne, Northwestern center Ben Burkett, Northern Illinois offensive tackle Trevor Olson, Northern Illinois defensive end Sean Progar, Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o and Northern Illinois center Scott Wedige were named to the Lombardi Award watch list on Tuesday.

The Lombardi Award is given to the nation’s top lineman. Auburn’s Nick Fairley won the award last season.