U.S. team includes Beasley, Bocanegra

Former Chicago Fire and current U.S. Men's National team head coach Bob Bradley had some difficult decisions to make in piecing together his squad's 23-man roster for the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

After surveying what seemed to be an endless list of potentials, Bradley named his World Cup squad on Wednesday. The grouping includes former Fire players Carlos Bocanegra and DaMarcus Beasley. Beasley joins midfielder Landon Donovan and defender Steve Cherundolo as the only U.S. players making a third World Cup appearance.

Last year, Beasley was not exactly on the radar to make this step. The Fort Wayne, Ind., native's form was sub-par, and it was only until a successful December stretch with Glasgow Rangers that people were taking notice of him again.

"He certainly had to prove himself," Bradley said. "DaMarcus obviously had fallen out of it a little bit, and he needed to make a renewed commitment to the team, a renewed commitment to doing things as a player that make his team better. We've seen that, and we feel good about the way he's worked to make that happen."

Bocanegra always was a given to be a part of this squad. His French club team Rennes never announced that he had minor sports hernia surgery earlier this month, but all along Bocanegra's status for the national team never was in doubt.

"Carlos is our captain, and his presence in the team is very important," Bradley said. "He's got a great way with the group, he's very positive, and he's a player that, when he steps on the field, people respect him for the way he competes. I think in those ways his leadership has grown over the years."

U.S. Men's National team roster

Goalkeepers:Brad Guzan (Aston Villa, England), Marcus Hahnemann(Wolverhampton, England), Tim Howard (Everton, England)

Defenders:Carlos Bocanegra (Rennes, France), Jonathan Bornstein(Chivas USA), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover, Germany), Jay DeMerit (Watford, England), Clarence Goodson (IK Start, Norway), Oguchi Onyewu (AC Milan, Italy), Jonathan Spector (West Ham, England)

Midfielders:DaMarcus Beasley (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland), Michael Bradley (Borussia Moenchengladbach, Germany), Ricardo Clark(Eintracht Frankfurt, Germany), Clint Dempsey (Fulham, England), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles), Maurice Edu(Glasgow Rangers, Scotland), Benny Feilhaber (AGF Aarhus, Denmark), Stuart Holden (Bolton, England), Jose Torres (Pachuca, Mexico)

Forwards:Jozy Altidore (Hull, England), Edson Buddle (Los Angeles), Robbie Findley (Salt Lake), Herculez Gomez (Puebla, Mexico)