Bocanegra among lineup for U.S.-Poland

Former Chicago Fire and current U.S. Men's National Team head coach Bob Bradley named his 20-player roster Thursday for the team's October friendlies against Poland in Chicago, and against Colombia in Chester, Pa.

The U.S. hosts Poland at 7 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 9, at Soldier Field (Fox Soccer Channel, Galavision), then takes on Colombia at 7 p.m. CT on Oct. 12 at PPL Park in Chester, Pa. (ESPN2, Galavision).

Among the group is former Fire standout and two-time MLS Defender of the Year Carlos Bocanegra. Also joining the squad are Homer Glen native Brad Guzan, Arlington Heights' Jonathan Spector and Downers Grove native Eric Lichaj. Former Palatine resident and Chicago Sockers FC youth player Michael Bradley also joins the group.

"We believe we have a strong nucleus of talented players, many of whom we are going to challenge to assume greater leadership roles during the next four-year cycle," Bob Bradley said. "We certainly have ideas on how we want to move forward, and these games will be the start of that process."

Bocanegra is currently enjoying a first-place start to the season with St. Etienne of the French Ligue 1 with a 5-1-1 record. He represents one of 13 players who participated in the U.S.'s Group C-winning squad in the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

Lichaj is joining the U.S.'s full-team roster for the first time. The Aston Villa defender has ties to the Chicago Magic, spent one year at the University of North Carolina, then latched on to Villa, where he made his debut in late August during a 1-1 draw against Rapid Viennain UEFA Europa League qualifying.

U.S. roster:

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton

Defenders: Carlos Bocanegra (St. Etienne), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover), Clarence Goodson (IK Start), Eric Lichaj (Aston Villa), Oguchi Onyewu (AC Milan), Michael Parkhurst (FC Nordsjaelland), Heath Pearce (FC Dallas), Jonathan Spector (West Ham United)

Midfielders: Alejandro Bedoya (Orebro), Michael Bradley (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Maurice Edu (Rangers), Benny Feilhaber (Aarhus), Stuart Holden (Bolton Wanderers), Jermaine Jones (FC Schalke), Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

Forwards: Jozy Altidore (Villarreal), Clint Dempsey (Fulham), Eddie Johnson (Fulham)