No gold for rusty White Sox gloves

CHICAGO – The Chicago White Sox did not have a single Gold Glove Award nominee in 2013 and there isn’t a soul who thinks they got robbed.

After a 2012 season when they were one of the best defensive teams in baseball, the White Sox flipped the script in 2013 and were one of the worst. When three Gold Glove candidates were announced at each position Friday, the White Sox were nowhere near the list.

Even second baseman Gordon Beckham, who was making noise in 2012 as a potential Gold Glove winner down the road, finished with a .975 fielding percentage in 2013 that wasn’t even in the top 10 at his position in the American League.

The Houston Astros, who fielded a young and inexperienced roster this past season, had the most errors in the AL with 125 and were last in fielding percentage at .979. The more experienced White Sox had just four fewer errors than the Astros and were only one point better in fielding percentage, finishing second to last in both categories.

The White Sox are making a defense a priority with offseason moves.

In 2012, the White Sox not only had an AL-low 70 errors, their .988 fielding percentage was tied with the Seattle Mariners for best in the league. While such a drastic change could have been blamed n a turnover in personnel, the White Sox only made changes in two positions (third base and catcher), although they dealt with a number of injuries at nearly every position.

About the closest the White Sox got to a Gold Glove nominee this year was in the pitching category, where Mark Buehrle was nominated yet again, but this time as a member of the Toronto Blue Jays. Buehrle won a Gold Glove in each of his last three seasons with the White Sox and continued that trend in the National League last season when he moved to the Miami Marlins.

And the nominees are:

AL catcher: Matt Wieters, Joe Mauer, Salvador Perez.

AL first base: Chris Davis, James Loney, Eric Hosmer.

AL second base: Robinson Cano, Ben Zobrist, Dustin Pedroia.

AL third base: Manny Machado, Evan Longoria, Adrian Beltre.

AL shortstop: Yunel Escobar, Alcides Escobar, J.J. Hardy.

AL left field: Yoenis Cespedes, Andy Dirks, Alex Gordon.

AL center field: Adam Jones, Lorenzo Cain, Jacoby Ellsbury.

AL right field: Nick Markakis, Josh Reddick, Shane Victorino.

AL pitcher: Mark Buehrle, R.A. Dickey, Doug Fister.

N, catcher: A.J. Ellis, Russell Martin, Yadier Molina.

NL first base: Paul Goldschmidt, Adrian Gonzalez, Anthony Rizzo.

NL second base: Darwin Barney, Mark Ellis, Brandon Phillips.

NL third base: Nolan Arenado, Juan Uribe, David Wright.

NL shortstop: Ian Desmond, Andrelton Simmons, Troy Tulowitzki.

NL left field: Carlos Gonzalez, Starling Marte, Eric Young Jr.

NL center field: Carlos Gomez, Andrew McCutchen, Denard Span.

NL right field: Jay Bruce, Jason Heyward, Gerardo Parra.

NL pitcher: Patrick Corbin, Zack Greinke, Adam Wainwright.

The winners will be announced live on ESPN2 at 7 p.m. CT Tuesday.