Opening Day roster is finalized

CHICAGO – There were no surprises Saturday as the Chicago White Sox officially finalized their Opening Day roster with 12 pitchers, two catchers, seven infielders and four outfielders.

After his solid inning of work Friday night at Milwaukee, even getting the victory in the process, Jesse Crain showed that his the strained muscle in his right leg was ready to go, supplying the roster’s final puzzle piece.

The White Sox’s starting rotation will consist of Chris Sale, Jake Peavy, Gavin Floyd, Jose Quintana and Dylan Axelrod in the No. 5 spot, while John Danks starts out on the disabled list while still recovering from his surgically-repaired shoulder.

The bullpen will consist of Addison Reed, Nate Jones, Matt Lindstrom, Matt Thornton, Crain, Hector Santiago and Donnie Veal.

The White Sox will start out relatively thin in the outfield with Dayan Viciedo, Alejandro De Aza, Alex Rios and Dewayne Wise, with primary designated hitter Adam Dunn capable of playing some outfield on occasion if necessary.

The infield will consist of Paul Konerko, Gordon Beckham, Alexei Ramirez, Jeff Keppinger, Angel Sanchez and Conor Gillaspie. Tyler Flowers will be the starting catcher, backed up by Hector Gimenez.

The White Sox made six final moves Saturday in order to finalize the roster. Right-hander Brian Omogrosso was optioned to Triple-A Charlotte, while catcher Bryan Anderson, infielder Josh Bell, right-hander Jeff Gray, infielder Steve Tolleson and right-hander Ramon Troncoso were all reassigned to minor league camp.

The team will have one last workout Saturday morning at U.S. Cellular Field before opening the season Monday at home against the Kansas City Royals in a 3:05 p.m. CST contest. Sale will pitch opposite the Royals' James Shields.