Fire GK Johnson named to U.S. team

Chicago Fire goalkeeper Sean Johnson, coming off his first Major League Soccer season in 2010, begins the new year with a call-up to the U.S. National Team.

Former Fire and current U.S. head coach Bob Bradley named his 24-player U.S. camp roster on Tuesday as the Americans prepare for a Jan. 22 match against Chile at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. The 21-year-old Fire goalkeeper Johnson gets his first look with the U.S. squad.

Johnson took over the Fire's starting goalkeeper slot during his rookie season, posting a 4-6-3 record and saving 52 of 69 shots. Most recently, Johnson joined the Generation adidas team in Spain along with teammates Corben Bone and Baggio Husidic.

The U.S. camp begins on Jan. 4 and the roster consists of an average age of about 23 years old.

"The timing is right to assess many of the younger players and to broaden the player pool as we look forward to the next three years," Bradley said. "These extended camps gives the coaching staff an opportunity to work with these players closely, and at the same time expose them to what the environment and expectations are like at the international level."

Also named to the U.S. roster were former Fire and current Colorado Rapids goalkeeper Matt Pickens, who just took up the MLS Cup this past season. Barrington, Ill., native and defender Ryan Miller, who is playing with Halmstads BK in Sweden, was called up for the first time.

The U.S. MNT camp roster consists of the following players:

Goalkeepers: Dominic Cervi (Celtic), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Matt Pickens (Colorado Rapids), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders: A.J. DeLaGarza (Los Angeles Galaxy), Sean Franklin (Los Angeles Galaxy), Omar Gonzalez (Los Angeles Galaxy), Ugo Ihemelu (FC Dallas), Zach Loyd (FC Dallas), Ryan Miller (Halmstads BK), Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls), Anthony Wallace (Colorado Rapids), Marvell Wynne (Colorado Rapids)

Midfielders: Eric Alexander (FC Dallas), Alejandro Bedoya (Orebro), Sam Cronin (San Jose Earthquakes), Mikkel Diskerud (Stabaek), Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids), Dax McCarty (D.C. United), Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), Justin Braun (Chivas USA), Teal Bunbury (Sporting Kansas City), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)