Cincinnati Bengals sign seven to futures contracts

CINCINNATI -- With their season now over, the Cincinnati Bengals signed Monday seven members of their practice squad to reserve/futures contracts. Unlike when they were on the practice squad, those players cannot be snatched away by another team and signed to its active roster.

They won't formally count against the Bengals' active roster until Feb. 2, the Monday after the Super Bowl.

The three other Bengals practice squad players not given futures contracts, running back James Wilder Jr., defensive tackle Sam Montgomery and offensive lineman Emmett Cleary, revert back to free agency.

Here are the seven who received futures contracts (colleges in parenthesis):

LB L.J. Fort (Northern Iowa)

OT Dan France (Michigan State)

DT Kwame Geathers (Georgia)

CB Onterio McCalebb (Auburn)

TE Jake Murphy (Utah)

WR Tevin Reese (Baylor)

WR Eric Ward (Texas Tech)