Who's your Pac-10 coach of the year?

With the Pac-10 season (mercifully?) winding down, Jon Wilner of the San Jose Mercury News and Bob Clark of the The Register-Guard are calling Arizona State's Herb Sendek the frontrunner for the conference's coach of the year.

Yeah, you heard that right, NC State.

Since Ned Wulk took home that honor for the Sun Devils in 1980, every Pac-10 school has had a coach of the year except Arizona State.

This year's team is 18-8 and only a game out of first place going into Sunday's rivalry game at Arizona.

Sendek after tinkering with his offense has gotten big contributions out of Ty Abbott and Duke transfer Eric Boateng.

School assists leader Derek Glasser is also starting to heat up again after being benched earlier in the season.

Arizona State might have lost NBA draft picks James Harden and Jeff Pendergraph and gotten picked seventh in the preseason media poll, but Sendek has his team right in the race.