Notes and nuggets on the 2013 bracket

The NCAA field of 68 is out and there are plenty of storylines. Let’s take a look at some of the most interesting nuggets from this bracket:


The teams with the five longest current appearance streaks in the NCAA tournament all made the field: Kansas (24), Duke (18), Michigan State (16), Gonzaga (15) and Wisconsin (15).

Kansas' streak of 24 straight appearances ranks third all time. Duke's 18-appearance streak (all under Mike Krzyzewski) ranks tied for fourth. Coach K’s streak is currently the longest for an active head coach.

Noteworthy seeds

Indiana is a No. 1 seed for the first time since 1993, where it lost during the Elite Eight. The only other time the Hoosiers were a No. 1 seed was in 1987.

Gonzaga has the lowest-ranked strength of schedule (97th) for any No. 1 seed in the past 20 years. The last in that range was Stanford in 2004 (96th).

Miami is a No. 2 seed, matching its highest seed in school history (1999, lost in Round of 32). The Hurricanes are the first ACC team to win the regular season and conference tournament titles and NOT get a No. 1 seed.

Marquette is a No. 3 seed, matching its best seed in school history (1979, 2003, 2012).

National Championship Titles by Seed

Florida is a No. 3 seed. In 2006, when the Gators won the national championship, they were also a No. 3 seed.

North Carolina is a No. 8 seed, matching the Tar Heels' worst seed ever. In 2000 they were an No. 8 seed and went to the Final Four, where they lost in the semifinals to Florida.

There have been 19 No. 1 seeds to win a national championship, the most recent being Kentucky last season.

The No. 2 through No. 8 seeds have combined for 15 national titles.

No. 2 and No. 3 seeds have won an almost identical number of championships, as noted in the chart on the right. The highest seed with no national titles is the No. 5 seed.

Snubs and omissions

Three notes on teams that didn't make it, from the Elias Sports Bureau.

Maryland is the third ACC school since 1985 with two wins against top-five ranked schools to get snubbed from the NCAA tournament: Georgia Tech was left out in 1993-94 and Florida State in 1996-97.

Best BPI Among Teams Not in Dance

Virginia is the second ACC school in the last 40 years to win at least 10 conference games and not make the NCAA tournament (Virginia Tech, 10-6 in 2009-10).

Kentucky is the first school since Louisville in 1986-87 to be ranked in the top three in the preseason AP Poll and not make the tournament.

The last time that Tennessee, Kentucky and Alabama all missed the tournament? 1974.

The state of Utah doesn't have a team in the field for the first time since 1994.

It was a good day for ...

The Mountain West and Atlantic 10 conferences each got five teams into the tournament. For the Mountain West, that was its best showing ever. The Atlantic 10 matched its best showing. The other years it got five teams in were 1997 and 1998.

Coaching storylines

Some intriguing coaching storylines with the No. 1-seeded teams.

Rick Pitino and Louisville could face Duke in the Elite Eight. Pitino hasn't faced the Blue Devils in the NCAA tournament since Christian Laettner's famous shot in the 1992 Elite Eight.

Indiana's Tom Crean could face his former Marquette team in the Elite Eight. He hasn't faced them since taking the job with the Hoosiers in 2008.

Kansas could face Roy Williams in the Round of 32. Kansas is 2-0 against its old coach, with both wins coming in the tournament.

Seven of the eight games in the Round of 64 in the South will feature a coach who has made at least one Final Four. Five will feature a coach who has won a national title.

The Butler-Bucknell matchup is one of coaches with Division III pedigrees. Butler coach Brad Stevens is a graduate of DePauw University (which won the women's national title on Saturday). Dave Paulsen is a graduate and former head coach at Williams College (which plays in the Division III men's quarterfinals this weekend).


Here are the states with all of their Division I teams in the NCAA tournament: Kansas (3), New Mexico (2), Minnesota (1).

Three states got five teams into the tournament: California (Cal, Pacific, Saint Mary's, San Diego State and UCLA), North Carolina (Duke, Davidson, North Carolina, North Carolina A&T, North Carolina State), and Pennsylvania (Bucknell, La Salle, Pittsburgh, Temple, Villanova).

If you look at air miles between airports for each tournament site, the teams that would have the longest “Roads to the Final Four” are Boise State (5,533 miles from Boise to Dayton to Kansas City to Los Angeles to Atlanta) and Syracuse (5,396 miles from Syracuse to San Jose to Washington, D.C. to Atlanta). The shortest road would belong to Louisville (641 miles from Louisville to Lexington to Indianapolis to Atlanta).

The most common nicknames among tournament teams are Wildcats (Kansas State, Arizona, Davidson and Villanova) and Tigers (Missouri, Memphis and Pacific).