Three B1G players up for national awards

One Big Ten offensive star is a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award, given to the college player of the year, while two Big Ten defenders are among the semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award, which goes to the nation's most outstanding defender.

None of the names will surprise you.

Wisconsin linebacker Chris Borland and Ohio State linebacker Ryan Shazier are two of the 16 semifinalists for the Bednarik, while Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon is the lone Big Ten representative on the list of 16 Maxwell Award semifinalists.

It would be nice to see more Big Ten defenders like Michigan State's Darqueze Dennard, Shilique Calhoun and Max Bullough get national recognition, but Borland and Shazier are the frontrunners for the league's defensive player of the year award. Injuries have hit the Big Ten's offensive stars pretty hard this season, and while Penn State wide receiver Allen Robinson has been great, I'm not surprised to see Gordon as the league's only rep.

Three finalists for both awards will be announced Nov. 25, and the winners will be revealed Dec. 12 during the Home Depot College Football Awards show. Here's the full list.