Cowboys sign practice squadders

IRVING, Texas -- The Cowboys’ first bit of official 2011 business involved signing seven practice squad players on Monday, while also bringing defensive end Alex Daniels back into the fold.

The Cowboys re-signed wide receivers Troy Bergeron and Jeff Moturi, offensive tackle Robert Brewster, guard Travis Bright, tight end Jason Pociask, linebacker Kelvin Smith and cornerback Ross Weaver. Daniels was released last week to make room for Moturi because of other injuries at wide receiver.

While the practice squad might not seem that important, the Cowboys called up nine players from that unit during the season: tight end Scott Chandler, tight end Martin Rucker, wide receiver Teddy Williams, quarterback Chris Greisen, wide receiver Jesse Holley, wide receiver Manny Johnson, cornerback Bryan McCann, running back Lonyae Miller and safety Andrew Sendejo.