Charles Haley, Bill Parcells miss HOF

IRVING, Texas -- The selections for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame for Charles Haley and Bill Parcells will have to wait at least another year.

Haley and Parcells made it to the final 10 of the voting process but did not get further.

The 2012 Pro Football Hall of Fame class consists of Jack Butler, Dermontti Dawson, Chris Doleman, Cortez Kennedy, Curtis Martin and Willie Roaf.

Dallas native Tim Brown did not make it past the final 15.

Haley has been a finalist the last few years and is the only player with five Super Bowl rings. He won two with San Francisco and three with the Cowboys in the 1990s. The Cowboys had hoped that his inclusion in the team’s Ring of Honor would help his Hall of Fame case in 2012.

Haley finished with 100.5 sacks and was named to the Pro Bowl five times with two All-Pro selections.

Parcells coached the Cowboys from 2003-06 and had a 34-30 regular season record. He won two Super Bowls with the New York Giants, took New England to a Super Bowl and is the only coach to take four different teams to the playoffs.